Big winner Meghan Patrick earned the Female Artist, Fans Choice, and Music Video of the Year honours (the last one for “Girls Like Me”) at the 2021 Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) Awards, held Sept. 3-5, 2021, at three live, drive-in, tailgate concerts at the Ancaster Fairgrounds in Southern Ontario. This is Patrick’s fourth consecutive win in the Female Artist category. Aaron Allen won for Male Artist and Album of the Year (the latter for Highway Mile).

The SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter(s) of the Year honour went to the Owen Barney song “Thank Her for That,” co-written by Barney and professional songwriters Alyssa Reid, Dave “Dwave” Thomson, Mike Wise, and Jamie Appleby.

Other multiple winners at the ninth annual CMAO Awards included Tim Hicks (Single of the Year for “No Truck Song”); Buck Twenty (for Group or Duo of the Year); Les Rats d’Swompe (for Francophone Artist or Group of the Year); and The Abrams (for Roots Artist or Group of the Year).

For a complete list of winners, click here.

SOCAN members Duffmusiq and Richard Tichelman have both won second-place prizes in the genre categories of the 2021 Unsigned Only song competition. Duffmusiq took the honours in the Blues category, for his song “I Can’t Get Over Losing You (AKA Ordinary Fool),” while Tichelman won in the Screenshot category, for his song “The One.”

In addition to these genre winners, 16 other SOCAN members, or acts featuring SOCAN members, also earned honorable mentions in their respective categories, including triple recognition for solo artist Madison Olds, and five honourees in the country category.  These winners are:

Adult Contemporary (AC)
Madison Olds, “Cliche Of Falling In Love”
Payge Owen, “Still”

Kyle McKearney, “Devil Water”

No Trombones, “Walk The Walk”

Mike Whiteside, “3 AM”
Alessia Cohle, “All Good”
Carson Janik, “Better Than That”
Alexa Goldie, “Not My Own”
Trevor Panczak, “Where I Go To Come Back”

The Cabaret Quicksand, “Colours”
Julia Gartha & Ariza, “Nothing’s More Lonely”

Alex Bird, “Fire Not Warmth”
Terry Jahz Lewis, “Romance Me”

Pop/Top 40
Madison Olds, “If You Wanna”

Smoothsaylin, “Sunday Morning”

Madison Olds, “Cliché of Falling in Love”

World Music
Dieufaite Charles (aka Jahfaa), “Li Pap Kraze”

SOCAN congratulates all of our winning members on these achievements. For a complete list of winners, and to hear the winning songs, click here.

SOCAN was pleased and proud to present a SOCAN 101 session (via Zoom) as part of the Girl Connected Songwriting Camp that ran Aug. 19-22, 2021, at Collabo Camp, a retreat and incubator nestled amongst 100 wooded acres near Tweed, Ontario.

The participants in this edition of the Girl Connected camp were singer-songwriters Mighloe, Ajeya, Kenya Jade, and Faiza; producer-songwriter Jeia; and recording engineer-songwriter Cass Beau.

Girl Connected is a global brand focused on creating a community to connect women in the music, entertainment, and creative arts industries. The organization seeks to empower determined women professionals with a multi-level platform that provides the necessary framework towards professional success, inspiration, and growth. Through its programming, consisting of events and a global mentorship initiative, participants are able to evolve their careers, grow their ideas, and build meaningful partnerships in the entertainment and arts industries.