Singer-songwriter, recording artist, screen composer, and classical composer Sarah Slean has joined SOCAN’s Board of Directors, after a seat was vacated by the departure of Damhnait Doyle, who decided that a new career opportunity would not allow her enough time to fulfill her duties.
Slean is a four-time JUNO and two-time Gemini Award nominee, who’s written and released 11 albums in more than 10 countries as a songwriter and recording artist, but the most unique aspect of her artistry is its breadth.

Over her 25-year career, she’s performed internationally with world-renowned artists such as Rufus Wainwright, Alanis Morrisette and Feist; shared the stage with dozens of professional orchestras; composed award-winning chamber music; written orchestral arrangements for Dan Mangan, James Ehnes and Hawksley Workman; scored music for the screen (Hospital ShowUndeniably Young); created songs for television (CTV’s Cardinal); and is currently working on the stage adaptation of the Canadian Screen Award-winning film Maudie.

She’s a graduate of the Canadian Film Centre’s Composing Residency, and her TV work includes the second season of Detention Adventure for CBC/HBO (alongside Ari Posner and Amin Bhatia), for which they earned a Canadian Screen Award for Best Original Music, Fiction. Her most recent recognition was a JUNO Award nomination for the Best Classical Album: Choral or Vocal.

“SOCAN is arguably the most important music organization in this country, and I’m truly excited to join the board at such a pivotal moment in its evolution,” said Slean. “As a lifelong artist with 25 years’ experience in a variety of musical worlds, I hope to bring a unique and artist-focused perspective to the work ahead. Over those 25 years, I experienced the total digital transformation of the music ecosystem in real time, but no matter how swiftly the tech changes, artists are, and will always be the lifeblood of our industry. I’m passionate about helping SOCAN develop new and better ways to serve them. I look forward to collaborating with my excellent colleagues on the board and thank the voting members for their trust.”

Slean’s appointment was a result of the most recent SOCAN Board election results, and in accordance with the company’s bylaws.

“It’s been an honour to serve Canadian songwriters and their concerns the last three-and-a-half years,” said Doyle. “I’m departing the board to join the CBC Music team, and as sad as I am to leave SOCAN, I’m thrilled that Sarah Slean is joining. I know she’ll be an excellent addition to the board. I also have enormous faith in SOCAN CEO Jennifer Brown, and her vision for the future of the company. SOCAN’s future is bright.”

Said SOCAN Board of Directors President Marc Ouellette, “Despite her departure, SOCAN’s Board colleagues are both delighted with the new career opportunities that are taking place for Damnhait, and also very pleased and motivated to welcome renowned songwriter Sarah Slean into their ranks.”