SOCAN presented Sam Roberts with a No. 1 Song Award for writing “Picture of Love” –  recorded by the Sam Roberts Band – which reached the top of the CBC Music Top 20 chart the week of May 7, 2023.

SOCAN Creative Executive Houtan Hodania and Account Executive Adam Harendorf presented the award to Roberts on Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2023, at the offices of record company Cadence Music in downtown Toronto.

SOCAN congratulates Sam Roberts on another great achievement!

Sam Roberts Band, Picture Of Love

Select the image to play the YouTube video of the Sam Roberts Band song “Picture of Love”



Tenille Townes was the big winner at the 2023 Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMAs), where she took home three honours – for Female Artist of the Year (for the fifth year in a row); Country Program of the Year (as the host of Christmas Time with Tenille Townes 2022); and Songwriter of the Year (for “The Thing That Wrecks You,” a duet with Bryan Adams).

SOCAN CEO Jenn Brown and Creative Director Cameron Kennedy presented the songwriter award to Townes – who co-wrote “The Thing That Wrecks You” with Bryan Adams, Daniel Tashian, and Kate York – at the gala ceremonies for the 41st annual edition were held in a broadcast show, televised on CTV, on Sept. 16, 2023, from the FirstOntario Centre in Hamilton. Artists were also honoured the previous night at the Music Industry Gala Dinner & Awards.

Jade Eagleson earned both the Male Artist and Entertainer of the Year Awards, as well as one for Innovative Campaign of the Year, for the “She Don’t Know” Wedding Contest. The Reklaws, who hosted the awards broadcast ceremonies, won Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year, for Good Ol’ Days. Jason McCoy and  and Brian Edwards were inducted into Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame, and Big Loud Publishing earned the Music Publishing Company of the Year Award, while Dean Brody received the Gary Slaight Music Humanitarian Award.

Earlier in Country Music Week, leading up to the awards weekend, SOCAN Creative Executive Lord Quest – along with representatives from the other rights organizations CMRRA, ACTRA/RACS, MROC, and Connect Music Licensing – participated in Royalties Round Up: The Big Picture Seminar. The session answered questions, filled in gaps, and provided attending CCMA members with greater knowledge of how to handle their royalties.

Access a full list of the winners here.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members and music industry colleagues who won Canadian Country Music Awards this year!

SOCAN presented singer-songwriter JP Saxe with a No. 1 Song Award for writing “I Don’t Miss You,” which scaled the peak of the CBC Music Top 20 on June 8, 2023.

“I Don’t Miss You”  is co-written by John Mayer and Malay (aka James Ho). SOCAN presented the award to Saxe on Monday, Sept. 11, 2023, at the downtown offices of Sony Music in Toronto’s Liberty Village.

The trophy was proffered by SOCAN Creative Executive Houtan Hodania, and Saxe was accompanied by his manager Ramsey Ghazzawi, of AG Artists.

SOCAN congratulates JP Saxe on this great achievement!

JP Saxe, I Don't Miss You

Select the image to play the YouTube video of the JP Saxe song “I Don’t Miss You”