• The Regroupement des artistes en arts visuels du Québec (RAAV) has launched an emergency fund for visual artists
  • MusicBC has launched SoundOn, an ambitious program to assist the live community, by funding and streaming 100 shows in its first year
  • INK Entertainment has launched CityView Drive-In, an all-new, downtown Toronto drive-in theatre and outdoor concert venue near Rebel Nightclub
  • ADISQ has  launched the Écoute mon clip program, highlighting nearly 120 music videos released during the pandemic, to be broadcast on all television platforms starting Thursday, July 9
  • Tenille Townes raised $89,000 during her virtual “Big Hearts For Big Kids” fundraiser, which can be viewed for the next week across Townes’ social media platforms
  • Anvil played their online metal concert in Québec
  • The London Free Press asks, “Will ongoing shutdown eventually kill London’s vibrant live-music venues?”
  • Montréal nightclubs re-open with strict new COVID-19 regulations
  • Vancouver’s live music venues risk closure as pandemic restrictions continue
  • The Polaris Music Prize has chosen to not host a winner Gala event in 2020, instead celebrating the Short List with a cinematic tribute on Oct. 19, to be broadcast in Canada on the CBC Gem streaming service, CBC Music’s Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube pages and around the globe at cbc.ca/music/events/Polaris
  • The ADISQ Galas will be televised in the a fall, as usual
  • Cam Carpenter has penned a story for FYI about what’s happening at live venues across Canada
  • Le Festival de musique de Lachine is going online for 2020
  • Roots Music Canada recently surveyed its audience about the impact of the pandemic, and the results are in
  • CIMA and Music Publishers Canada have launched a COVID-19 Long-Term Relief Survey

For a complete list of resources, click on the image below.

The East Coast Music Association (ECMA) has unveiled the first wave of recipients of the 2020 Honourary East Coast Music Awards, the majority of which will be handed out during the 2020 ECMA Pre-Awards Show on Facebook and YouTube this Friday, July 10 at 1:00 p.m. AT.

The Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented as part of the 2020 East Coast Music Awards televised special, airing Saturday, July 11 at 9:00 p.m. AT on CBC TV in Atlantic Canada and on CBC Gem across the country. The televised special also features a tribute to the legendary Ron Hynes in celebration of his induction into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame with support from the SOCAN Foundation and Peermusic.

Five other Honorary Awards – the Stompin’ Tom Awards – will be handed out live on CBC’s Weekend Mornings and CBC’s Weekend AM radio shows this Saturday, July 11:

SOCAN congratulates all of the honourary awards winners.

Alessia Cara won three of the six honours for which she was nominated at the 2020 JUNO Awards, held online only for the first time in its 49-year history, on Monday, June 29. Cara earned the Songwriter of the Year Award, presented by SOCAN, as well as the Album and Pop Album of the Year for The Pains of Growing.

Tory Lanez won Rap Recording of the Year, for Freaky – his third consecutive win in that category. Lanez also became the first artist to ever win, in the same year, in both the Rap Recording and R&B/Soul Recording categories (where he was a co-winner alongside Jessie Reyez and Tainy, for “Feel It Too”).

Shawn Mendes took Single of the Year for the third year in a row, with “Señorita,” his global smash hit with Camila Cabello, and Artist of the Year for the second consecutive time.

The Francophone album of the Year went to Les Louanges, for La nuit est une panthère. Alexandra Stréliski earned Instrumental Album of the Year honours for Inscape, while Dominique Fils-Aimé garnered the Vocal Jazz Album of the Year Award for Stay Tuned!

The Classical Composition of the Year went to Ana Sokolović for Evta, and The Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year went to Celeigh Cardinal, for Stories from a Downtown Apartment. Pup earned the Alternative Album of the Year Award, for Morbid Stuff, and Dawn Tyler Watson won Blues Album of the Year for Mad Love.

While it was unusual to see an awards show online, without any acceptance speeches or thank-yous, the night was highlighted by an exclusive live-in-studio performance by Alessia Cara of “Rooting for You,” and strong, emotional songs from JUNO winners The Dead South (in the Traditional Roots Album category, for Sugar & Joy), Neon Dreams (Breakthrough Group of the Year), and iskwē (in the Music Video category, for “Little Star”).

For a complete list of winners, click here.