Tenille Townes was the big winner at the 2019 Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMAs) in Calgary, where she took home four honours: Single, Video, Songwriter (all for “Somebody’s Daughter”), and Female Artist of the Year.

Veteran country singer-songwriter Charlie Major and publicist Anya Wilson were inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame on Saturday, Sept. 7, at the CCMA Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN, at the Telus Convention Centre in Calgary. The same night, Paul Brandt was honoured with the Slaight Music Humanitarian Award, Lindsay Ell took home the CCMA Award for Interactive Artist of the Year, while Donovan Woods and The Washboard Union tied for Roots Album of the Year (for Both Ways and What We’re Made Of, respectively). The Reklaws took home the award for Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year, “Long Live the Night,” while ole (Anthem Entertainment) was the Music Publishing Company of the Year. During the gala dinner, Emma-Lee and Andrew Hyatt sang a medley of songs co-written in early 2019 at the inaugural CCMA Song Camp, co-presented by SOCAN.

At the nationally televised CCMA Awards show, held the next night at the Scotiabank Saddledome, and hosted by Billy Ray Cyrus and Dallas Smith, the latter earned awards for both Male Artist and Entertainer of the Year. Show-stopping performances by Old Dominion and Tim Hicks had fans on their feet, while never-before-seen collaborations from High Valley & Lindsay Ell, and country sweethearts Meghan Patrick & Mitchell Tenpenny, created some memorable moments. The Reklaws’ mashup performance of “Feels Like That” and “Country Roads” had fans excited, while Dallas Smith’s performance of his hit single “Drop” segued into a collaboration performance of “Achy Breaky Heart” by Billy Ray Cyrus and Terri Clark, and then into Morgan Wallen’s debut performance of his chart-topping hit “Whiskey Glasses.”

Throughout Canadian Country Music Week (CCMW) conference and festival leading up to the awards shows, SOCAN presented No. 1 Song Awards to Townes, Tim Hicks, and James Barker.

SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, Director, A&R Rodney Murphy, and A&R Representatives Melissa Cameron-Passley and Racquel Villagante presented a SOCAN No. 1 Song Award to Tenille Townes for the unstoppable “Somebody’s Daughter,” which reached No. 1 on the Nielsen BDS Country Chart on Jan. 28, 2019. The song was written by Tenille Townes, Luke  Laird, and Barry Dean, and published by Red Brick Songs.

Tim Hicks, SOCAN, No. 1 Song Awards, CCMAs, 2019

Left to right: SOCAN’s Eric Baptiste and Melissa Cameron-Passley; Tim Hicks; and SOCAN’s Marc Ouellette, Racquel Vilalgante, and Rodney Murphy. Photo: @coreykellyimages

All of the SOCAN representatives listed above, as well as our Board of Directors President and Chairman Marc Ouellette, presented a No. 1 Song Award to Tim Hicks, for “What a Song Should Do,” which topped the Nielsen BDS Country Chart on June 10, 2019. The song was co-written by Emma-Lee and Karen Koswoski.

James Barker, SOCAN, No 1 Song Award, CCMAs, 2019

Left to right: SOCAN’s Racquel Villagante, Anthem Entertainment’s Tim Wipperman, James Barker, Anthem’s Tim Hunze, SOCAN’s Melissa Cameron-Passley. Photo courtesy CCMAs.

Cameron-Passley and Villagante also presented a No. 1 Award to James Barker, of the James Barker Band, for “Keep It Simple,” which scaled the peak of the Nielsen BDS Country Chart on May 27, 2019. “Keep It Simple” was co-written by Barker, Gavin Slate, Travis Wood and Todd Clark and co-published by Anthem Entertainment and Downtown Music Publishing. The three co-writers were unable to attend, but will be honoured later this month.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members who won Canadian Country Music Awards and SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards this year!

SOCAN members Madison Olds, Layla Zoe, Adrian Chalifour, and Roman Smirnov have won first-place prizes in the genre categories of the 2019 Unsigned Only competition.

Multiple winner Olds took top honours in the Adult Contemporary category, for her song “Thank You,” and also earned two honourable mentions: one in the Vocal Performance field, for the same song, and on in the Screenshot category, for “Moments in the Mountains.”  Double winner Zoe won first place in Blues, for “The Deeper They Bury Me,” and an honourable mention in Vocal Performance, for “I’ll Be Reborn Blues.”

Chalifour reached the zenith of the Adult Album Alternative category, for his song “Head Down, Heart Up,” while Roman Smirnov scaled the peak of the Instrumental field, with “Kuwaka.” Big Little Lions earned a second-place win in the Screenshot filed, for “Find Your Tribe.”

In addition to these winners, 24 SOCAN member also earned Honorable Mentions in their respective categories, including four in the Country filed and five in the Teen category. The Honourable Mention winners are:

Adult Alternative
Dale Boyle, “Ghosts”
Mike Goodreau, “I’m So Glad I Found You”

Spencer Mackenzie, “Devil Under her Skin”
No Trombones, “Walk The Walk”

Brant Pethick, “Higher”
West of Here, “Reach for the Sky”

Wes Mack, “Best Hangover”
Danielle Todd, “Crazy”
Dylan Holton, “I Used To”
Jesse Slack, “Lip Sync”

Emma Cook, “Say it Loud”

Denielle Bassels, “Cool Cool Water”

Pop/Top 40
James Alphonse, “I’ll Be Your Wall”
Francois Klark, “Run”
I. ARI, “Stay V Go”

DSTNY, “Lies”

JoJo Worthington, “Stabilize”
Goodnight, Sunrise, “WVV”

Kat Beck, “Hooked On Your Love”
Beamer Wigley, “I Knew”
Mikalyn Hay, “Nothing But Blood”
Kyle Meagher, “Nowhere”
Sofia Kay, “Tea Shop”

Vocal Performance
David Blair, “Why”

SOCAN congratulates all of our winning members on these achievements. For a complete list of winners, and to hear the winning songs, click here.

Ian MacKay, the President of RE:SOUND since 2009, will be leaving the organization – which collects performance royalties for artists and record labels – at the end of the year.

In 2019, MacKay was instrumental in creating and launching Entandem, a joint venture with SOCAN created to simplify the licensing process so that music users can play all the music they want in their business legally and ethically. Entandem ensures that those who created and fostered the music – songwriters, music publishers, performing artists, and record labels – are fairly compensated in a single payment to one organization.

Over his 10 years at the company, MacKay supervised the implementation of other key strategic initiatives, including the expansion of RE:SOUND’s Board of Directors to be more reflective of RE:SOUND’s diverse stakeholders, and the addition of an Independent Chair. In 2018, RE:SOUND contributed more than $50 million in domestic and international income in remuneration to artists (including background musicians and session players) and record labels (including both major and indie labels).

“I’m very proud of all that I and the team have accomplished at RE:SOUND over the last decade,” said MacKay. “I’m leaving the organization in great hands, with a seasoned and passionate senior management team.” Anthony Ariganello, Chair of the Board of RE:SOUND, said that “The Board is very proud to highlight that MacKay’s tenure at RE:SOUND has been marked by aggressive revenue growth, expansion in revenue sources, and cost reductions through efficiencies, and wishes to thank him for all his hard work over the years.”

RE:SOUND has started searching for MacKay’s successor, while he stays on for an interim period to assure a smooth leadership transition.