On Sunday, Nov. 6, 2022, at the ADISQ televised gala in Montréal, SOCAN member Hubert Lenoir continued his winning streak by being awarded the prestigious Songwriter of the Year trophy, as well as the Félix for Male Performer of the Year, and the International Outreach Award, presented by SOCAN. These trophies topped up the other four he received during the Premier Gala and industry gala for a total of seven this year.

As for the Breakthrough Artist of the Year category, the competition was intense, but in the end Ariane Roy walked away with the trophy. We met her as she left the stage to get her first impressions, and to talk about Québec City’s effervescent music scene. 

Ariane Roy video thumbnail

Click on the image to play the interview with Ariane Roy

The Song of the Year Félix went to FouKi and Jay Scøtt for “Copilote” (co-written by Pier-Luc Papineau, Léo Fougères, Adel Kazi Aoual, Clément Langlois-Légaré & Tom St-Laurent, and published by Disques 7ième Ciel). The Group or Duo of the Year Award went to Salebarbes, who faced competition from big names such as Les Trois Accords, Les Cowboys Fringants, Bon Enfant, and 2 Frères. Cowboys Fringants weren’t to be outdone, as they won in the category Album of the Year — Popular Success with the original soundtrack of the movie L’Amérique pleure.

As for Klô Plegag, a regular at the ADISQ Gala, her show Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs was awarded the Félix for Show of the Year, while Roxane Bruneau continued her momentum, as she was crowned Female Performer for the second year in a row.

Finally, Atikamekw artist Laura Niquay won the Indigenous Artist of the Year Félix, after winning the SOCAN Foundation TD Indigenous Songwriter Award last July. 

The evening also featured several superb performances from SOCAN members Cœur de pirate, Patrice Michaud, and Quatuor esca; Bruno Pelletier and Mario Pelchat, performing as a duo for the first time, to celebrate their 40-year career; the nominees in the Breakthrough Artist of the Year category — Étienne Coppée, Natasha Kanapé, La Zarra, Ariane Roy, and Jay Scøtt ; Lisa LeBlanc and Édith Butler; Naya Ali and Sarahmée; Corneille; Émile Bilodeau, Samian, Laura Niquay & Claude McKenzie; and to finish the evening, a flamboyant performance by Hubert Lenoir. 

For a complete list of winners, visit the ADISQ website 

Stay tuned for our backstage interviews from the First Gala and the ADISQ Gala in the coming days.