SOCAN composers of all kinds are invited to apply now for Soundstreams’ 2019 Emerging Composer Workshop (ECW). The Workshop is a 10-day intensive mentorship program that supports talented young composers and helps them to launch their careers. The sixth edition of the ECW will take place January 25 through February 3, 2019, in Toronto.

The workshop focus is on strings this year, and participants will be tasked with composing a piece for a string quartet. The Rolston String Quartet will be this year’s ECW resident ensemble. Soundstreams’ ECW adopts a holistic model that features a vibrant array of rehearsals, seminars, networking, professional development activities, and a public showcase of new works created during the Workshop.

This year, the ECW mentors will be the award-winning, eclectic, prolific composer Dorothy Chang, and leading contemporary Nordic composer Rolf Wallin.

ECW welcomes both domestic and international submissions; six composers will be chosen to participate. Thanks to Soundstreams’ generous sponsors and donors, there are no tuition fees to attend the workshop, and participant accommodations are provided free of charge.

The submission deadline for applications is September 20, 2018 (at 11:59 pm ET). For more details, or to apply, click here.