Once again this year, SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore have fared very well in nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards. With expanded musical categories this year, 47 of our members have earned nominations, 11 of them have garnered double-noms, and Antonio Naranjo and Jonathan Goldsmith have been honoured with three nods each.

Presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, the Canadian Screen Awards were born of the fusion of two awards ceremonies – the Genie Awards for movies and Gemini Awards for television. The 2023 awards will be presented over six days during Canadian Screen Week, April 11-16, 2023.

The SOCAN nominees are as follows:


 Achievement in Music – Original Score

  • Ian Lefeuvre – Ashgrove
  • Todor Kobakov – Brother
  • Adrian Ellis – Cult Hero
  • Ari Posner– The End of Sex

 Achievement in Music – Original Song

  • Ian Lefeuvre – “The Weight” from Ashgrove
  • Marie Clements, Wayne Lavallee, Jesse Zubot – “You Are My Bones” from Bones of Crows
  • Chuck Baker, Tony Burgess – “The Ascension Song,” from Cult Hero
  • Rose Cousins, Breagh Isabel – “Get Home,” from Dawn, Her Dad & The Tractor
  • Kate Hewlett – “The Swearing Song,” from The Swearing Jar

Best Original Music in a Feature-Length Documentary

  • Walker Grimshaw – Dear Audrey
  • Edo Vanbreemen, Johannes Winkler (N/A) – Handle with Care: The Legend of the Notic Streetball Crew
  • Delphine Measroch – Humus
  • Ramachandra Borcar– Scrap
  • Jonathan Goldsmith – To Kill a Tiger


 Best Original Music, Animation

  • Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna! – “Dig It Daddy-O” episode
  • Caleb Chan, Brian Chan – Pinecone & Pony – “Lance Or Not” / “Treat Your Creature” episodes
  • Caleb Chan, Brian Chan – Team Zenko Go – “Harmony Harbor’s Holiday Surprise,” Part 1 and 2 episodes
  • Jeff Morrow – The Snoopy Show – “Dogs Don’t Say Goodbye” episode
  • Neil Parfitt – Super Wish – “Legend of the Cake-Bun Bottom” episode

 Best Original Music, Drama

  • Tom Third – Coroner – “LJND” episode
  • Keith Power – Departure – “Runaway” episode
  • Gary Koftinoff, Philip J Bennett – Hudson & Rex – “No Man is an Island” episode
  • Jonathan Goldsmith – The Porter – Episode 101
  • Lora Bidner, Robert Carli – Ruby and the Well – “I Wish We’d Stayed Friends”

Best Original Music, Comedy

  • Ames Bessada – Astrid & Lilly Save the World – Pilot episode
  • Ari Posner, Amin Bhatia, Sarah Slean, Antonio Naranjo – Detention Adventure – “Singing in the Raign” episode
  • John Rowley – Pretty Hard Cases – “Pencil Skirts” episode
  • Alan Doyle, Keith Power – Son of a Critch – “Old Soul, New School” episode
  • Ceréna, Emily Persich, Moël (n/a), Terrell Morris, SVDP (n/a), Vivek Shraya – Sort Of – “Sort Of Who She Is” episode

Best Original Music, Documentary

  • Todor Kobakov – A.rtificial I.mmortality
  • Tom Third – BLK: An Origin Story – ​​Nova Scotia: Three Epic Migrations, One People
  • Ramachandra Borcar – Dear Jackie
  • Ohad Benchetrit, Justin Small – The Perfect Story
  • Michelle Osis – Unloved: Huronia’s Forgotten Children

 Best Original Music, Factual, Lifestyle, Reality, or Entertainment

  • Rachael Johnstone, Annelise Noronha, Jason Turriff, Earl Torno – A Cut Above –  Episode 101
  • Guillaume Coutu Dumont – Eat Me (or try not to) –  “The Taste” episode
  • Derek Miller – Friday Night Thunder – “You Gotta Push the Limits or Stay Behind” episode
  • Les Stroud, Kevin Kossowan, David Bateman – Les Stroud’s Wild Harvest –  “Mussels & Wild Radish” episode
  • Joseph Shabason – Open Fire – “The Fall Cookout” episode

 Best Original Music, Original Song

  • Antonio Naranjo, Carla Sutton – Detention Adventure –  “See You Later” episode –  “See You Later”
  • Antonio Naranjo, Carla Sutton – Detention Adventure – “Singing in the Raign” episode – “No Place Like Home”
  • Jonathan Goldsmith, Kaïa Kater – The Porter – Episode 104 – “Songbird”
  • Emily Persich – Sort Of – “Sort Of Broke” episode – “Superpowers”
  • Creighton Doane, Melanie Doane, Bob Ezrin – Ukulele U – “Use Your Inside Voice” episode –  “Use Your Outside Voice”

For further information and a complete list of nominees, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website. Congratulations to all our nominees on this great achievement!