Host Shania Twain was the big winner at the 2018 Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMAs) in Hamilton, where she took home four honours: Top Selling Album of the Year, Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year, the CCMA Generation Award, and the Fans’ Choice Award.

Keith Urban, Teri Clark

Keith Urban & Terri Clark

Terri Clark was inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame on Saturday, Sept. 8, at the CCMA Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN, at the Hamilton Convention Centre. The same night, Brett Kissel took home the CCMA Award for Interactive Artist of the Year for the fifth consecutive year, while The Washboard Union celebrated their third win in the Roots Artist or Group of the Year category. Four-time 2018 CCMA Award nominees James Barker Band took home their first CCMA Awards win for Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year. “Chills.” The Songwriter(s) of the Year were Aaron Goodvin, Skip Black, and Catt Gravitt for “Lonely Drum,” performed by Goodvin, while ole was the Music Publishing Company of the Year.

At the nationally televised CCMA Awards show, held the next night at the FirstOntario Centre, the night opened with a Shania Twain tribute performed by Album of the Year winner Jess Moskaluke, Kira Isabella, and Madeline Merlo, while later on, international superstar Keith Urban performed his hit song “Never Coming Down.” Other highlights included a collaborative performance from Brett Kissel and Serena Ryder, and a tribute to 2018 Hall of Fame inductee Terri Clark by Suzy Boggus, Jessica Mitchell, Meghan Patrick (Female Artist of the Year), joined by Clark herself.


Eric Baptiste, Jess Moskaluke, Rodney Murphy

Left to right: SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, Jess Moskaluke, SOCAN’s Rodney Murphy

Throughout Canadian Country Music Week (CCMW) conference and festival leading up to the awards shows, SOCAN presented No. 1 Song Awards to Jess Moskaluke and Donovan Woods. Moskaluke was honoured for Drive Me Away” – co-written with Zach Abend (BMI) and Corey Crowder (ASCAP – which reached the peak of the CMT Countdown Chart on May 13, 2017.

Woods was honoured for three No. 1 songs:

  • “Chills” – co-written with James Barker, Gavin Slate, and Travis Wood, co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada and ole, and performed by James Barker Band – peaked on the CMT Countdown Chart on May 27, 2017, and on the Nielsen BDS Country Chart on June 19, 2017.
  • “Burn That Bridge” – co-written with Dylan Guthro, Breagh MacKinnon, and Carleton Stone, co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada and Port Cities Music, and performed by Woods – reached the top of the CBC Music Top 20 Chart on Feb. 22, 2018.
  • “Separate Rooms” – co-written with Megan Bonnell, Chris Stringer, ad Joshua Van Tassel, co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada and Meant Well Music, and performed by Bonnell – attained the No. 1 spot on the CBC Music Top 20 Chart on May 24, 2018.


Eric Baptiste, Donovan Woods, Vivian Barclay, Marc Ouellette

Left to right: SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, Donovan Woods, Vivian Barclay of Warner Chappell Music Canada, and SOCAN Board President Marc Ouellette.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members who won Canadian Country Music Awards and SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards this year!

See the Facebook Photo Album.