Saxophonist Alison Young and trumpeter Alexis Baro, both SOCAN member composers, are nominated in the 2019 JUNO Awards for Jazz Album of the Year: Solo – she for So Here We Are and he for Sandstorm. In our brief interview, they discuss their differing compositional processes, their reactions to the nomination, and the current state of jazz in Canada.

SOCAN members Drake and Daniel Caesar won, and Shawn performed alongside Miley Cyrus, at the 61st annual Grammy Awards, held Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019. Caesar won at a ceremony earlier in the day, while Drake and Mendes were part of the evening gala, broadcast live, worldwide, from The Staples Center in Los Angeles.

A seven-time nominee, Drake won Best Rap Song for “God’s Plan,” whose co-writers include his longtime SOCAN member producers/collaborators/co-writers Boi-1da and Noah “40” Shebib. Making a rare appearance to accept the award, Drake said, “You’ve already won if you have people who are singing your songs word for word, if you are a hero in your hometown. If there’s people who have regular jobs who are coming out in the rain, in the snow, spending their hard-earned money to buy tickets to come to your shows, you don’t need this [a Grammy Award] right here, I promise you, you already won.” He tried to continue speaking, but was cut off as the show cut to a commercial.

Daniel Caesar shared a Best R&B Performance Grammy with H.E.R. for their co-written and co-performed duo, “Best Part.” Caesar’s usual co-writing/production team of SOCAN members Matthew Burnett, Jordan Evans, and Riley Bell are also co-writers on the song. All were also indirectly honoured because the song is included on H.E.R.’s eponymous debut EP, which earned Best R&B Album. Other SOCAN member co-writers/producers on the recording include Drake, Majid Jordan, Noah “40” Shebib, Nineteen85, and Illangelo.

Early in the telecast, Shawn Mendes gave an electrifying performance of his hit song “In My Blood” alongside Miley Cyrus, with whom he’s rumoured to be releasing a new duet single soon. Starting softly at the piano, Mendes soon strapped on an electric guitar, then traded solo vocal lines and duo harmonies with Cyrus, building to a white-hot intensity.

In other winner-connected SOCAN member news, co-writers/producers Frank Dukes, Murda Beatz, and Illangelo lent their skills to Cardi B’s Invasion of Privacy, which won Best Rap Album. Stephen “Koz” Kozmeniuk and Michael Sonier were among the co-writers of songs on Best New Artist Dua Lipa’s eponymous debut album. Alex Cuba co-wrote and is featured on “Por Eso Me Voy,” on Claudia Brant’s Sincera, which won Best Latin Pop Album. David Francey wrote the song “Bordeline,” included on The Travelin’ McCourys’ eponymous debut, which won Best Bluegrass Album. And Serban Ghenea played a part in Beck’s Colors, which won Best Alternative Music Album and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical.

SOCAN congratulates our Grammy-winning and winner-connected members on these huge achievements!

Once again this year, SOCAN members have fared very well in nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards, in the musical categories. Twenty-seven of our members have earned nominations in various categories.

Presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, the Canadian Screen Awards were born of the fusion of two awards ceremonies – the Genie Awards for movies and Gemini Awards for television. The 2019 awards will be presented over six days during Canadian Screen Week, March 25-31, and the March 31 closing awards gala will be broadcast live on CBC-TV.

The SOCAN nominees are as follows:


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Philippe Brault – The Fireflies Are Gone | La disparition des lucioles
Aleka Swanson (a.k.a. Alaska B) – Through Black Spruce

Achievement in Music – Original Song
Dan General, Tanya Tagaq – “Trials” from The Grizzlies
Jean-Sébastien Williams – “Help Is on The Way” from Sashinka
Sook-Yin Lee, Adam Litovitz, Alia O’Brien –  “Ghost of Love (Onakabazien Remix)” from Octavio is Dead!


Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Kieran Adams – In the Making – “Dana Michel” episode
Darren Fung – Equus: Story of the Horse – “Origins” episode
Mark Korven – The Kingdom – “How Fungi Made Our World” episode
Justin Delorme – Taken – “Angela Meyer” episode
Laurel MacDonald, Phil Strong – You Are Here

Best Original Music, Fiction
Rob Carli – Murdoch Mysteries – “Shadows Are Falling” episode
Todor Kobakov – Ransom – “Radio Silence” episode
Todor Kobakov – Cardinal – “Blackfly Season” episode
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner – Anne with an E, “I Protest Against Any Absolute Conclusion” episode

Best Original Music, Animation
Steffan Andrews – Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – “Something Fishy” episode
James Chapple, Graeme Cornies, David Kelly, Brian Pickett – PAW Patrol – “Ultimate Rescue: Pups Save the Royal Kitties” episode
Derek Treffry, Greg Fisher – Mother Nature is Trying to Kill You
Neil Parfitt – Ranger Rob – “Sea Monsters of Big Sky Park”
Jonathan Evans – Esme & Roy – “Two Can Play at That Game”

For further information and a complete list of nominees, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website. Congratulations to all our nominees on this great achievement!