SOCAN member Matt Andersen won the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year honours, as well as Male Vocalist, Recording/Producer, and Entertainer of the Year, at the 27th annual Maple Blues Awards, presented by the Toronto Blues Society on Feb. 12, 2024, at The Phoenix Concert Theatre in downtown Toronto. SOCAN Chief Financial Officer Robert Bennett presented the songwriter award to Andersen.

Crystal Shawanda earned the first-ever  Maple Blues Award for Indigenous Artist of the Year, while Little Magic Sam won New Artist/Group of the Year, and Tedeschi Trucks won International Artist of the Year. The Blues With A Feeling Award for lifetime achievement went to Sue Foley, for her long-standing career and commitment to blues music.

Canadian blues artists, industry, and fans gathered to celebrate, cheering on performers and winners at the gala, hosted by Quisha Wint. The show featured performances from Andersen, Shawanda, the Blackburn Brothers, Brandon Isaak, and Angelina Hunter, all backed by the new Maple Blues Awards house band, The Maples.

For a full list of winners, click here.