Creative Manitoba is presenting The Art of Managing Your Career – Indigenous Perspectives, a course offering an overview of practical skills required to grow your career as an artist and creator. The eight-session program takes place in October and November 2019, and the instructor is Yvette Hawkes (Métis), a Winnipeg-based freelance visual artist.

For Indigenous artists working in any artistic discipline, the course covers both business and cultural subjects, including:

  • Envisioning and developing a career strategy
  • Effective business and communication skills
  • Marketing and promoting your work
  • Managing projects, financial affairs, and legal matters
  • Cultural mapping and resources
  • Explorations of protocols
  • A history of Indigenous art in Canada
  • Indigenous art in public, commercial, and/or community realms

The course is open to anyone with an existing or emerging arts practice including traditional craftspeople, dancers, filmmakers, musicians, hand drummers, new media content creators, visual artists, writers and knowledge keepers. If you’re a self-employed artist, or looking to increase the portion of your employment derived from your art, then this course is for you.

The course will run for eight consecutive Wednesday evenings in October and November 2019, from 6:30 to 9:00 p.m. each night, at the Creative Manitoba offices in Winnipeg. There are only 10 spots available. The cost is $120 CDN for members of Creative Manitoba, $170 CDN for non-members, and subsidies and assistance are available. Register here.

SOCAN composer Alexina Louie has been awarded the $50,000 Molson Prize for 2019, to help her continue her contributions to Canada’s cultural heritage.

Funded from a $1 million endowment given to the Canada Council by the Molson Family Foundation, The Molson Prize, of $50,000 to each recipient, is awarded annually to two distinguished Canadians, one in the arts and the other in the social sciences or humanities. The Canada Council administers the awards in conjunction with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

Alexina Louie is one of Canadaʼs most highly regarded contemporary composers. Her explorations of Asian art and philosophy, and her desire for self-expression, have contributed to the development of her unique musical voice. Her commissioned works have been performed and broadcast internationally, and range across all musical genres, including ballet and opera. She’s been commissioned by The National Ballet of Canada, The Canadian Opera Company, The Montreal Symphony, The Toronto Symphony, and The National Arts Centre Orchestra. Louie has twice won the JUNO Award for Best Classical Composition. She’s also received the National Arts Centre Composers Award, the Jules Léger Prize (chamber music), the Chalmers Award (musical composition), and the Lou Applebaum Award for Excellence in Film Music Composition. In 2002, she was made an Officer of the Order of Canada, and in 2003, she earned the Jan V. Matejcek New Classical Music honour at the SOCAN Awards.

The winner of the other Molson Prize for 2019 is John Borrows, the Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law at the University of Victoria Law School in British Columbia. Burrows is Anishinaabe/Ojibway, and a member of the Chippewa of the Nawash First Nation in Ontario.

SOCAN congratulates Alexina Louie and John Borrows on these awards!

Canadian classic hard rock band Triumph – composed of SOCAN members Rik Emmett (guitar, vocals), Mike Levine (bass, keyboards) and Gil Moore (drums, vocals) – will be inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, on Nov. 23, 2019.

Triumph, being recognized in the Arts and Entertainment field, is an award-winning trio that’s earned multi-platinum sales and several certified gold records, with hit songs, including “Lay it on the Line,” “Magic Power,” and “Fight the Good Fight.”

Responding to news of Triumph’s coming induction, Rik Emmett called it “an incredible honour”; Mike Levine said, “We’d like to thank Canada’s Walk of Fame, and the fans, and the people of Canada”; and Gil Moore called it “a highlight of our career.”

At the same 2019 awards show – the 21st annual edition of the event – the other seven Walk of Fame inductees are:

  • Frank Gehry (Science, Technology and Innovation) – World-renowned architect responsible for some of the most important works of contemporary architecture across the globe.
  • Cindy Klassen (Sports and Athletics) – Three-time Olympian, six-time Olympic medallist long track speed skater, Canada’s most-decorated Olympian.
  • Mark Messier (Sports and Athletics) – One of the greatest hockey players of all time, six-time Stanley Cup champion, member of the Order of Canada.
  • Jim Treliving (Business and Entrepreneurship) – Businessman, venture capitalist, TV personality on the hit series Dragons’ Den, CEO of Boston Pizza International.
  • Will Arnett (Arts and Entertainment) – Emmy-nominated actor, producer, comedian, voice actor, best known for Arrested Development, 30 Rock, BoJack Horseman, and the Lego Movie.
  • Ernie Coombs (Legend Inductee) – Beloved children’s television icon known for his CBC series Mr. Dressup, which was on the air for nearly 30 years.
  • Dr. James Naismith (Science, Technology and Innovation) – A physical educator, physician, coach, and innovator who invented the sport of basketball in 1891.

Two more 2019 inductees will be announced at a later date.

The awards show will be followed by a gala celebration, and the show will air on CTV in December 2019. SOCAN members previously inducted include the late Leonard Cohen, Andy Kim, Col. Chris Hadfield, the late Stompin’ Tom Connors, Michael Bublé, Rush, Sarah McLachlan, Blue Rodeo, The Tragically Hip, Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot, Nickelback, and kd lang.