SOCAN has presented professional songwriter Emily Reid with a No. 1 Song Award for co-writing “Boys,” performed by Dean Brody and Mickey Guyton, which reached the peak of the Billboard Canada Country Chart on March 29, 2021, and again on April 3, 2021.

“Boys” was co-written by Reid, Matt McVaney, and Travis Wood, and is published by Creative Pulse Music and BMG Platinum Songs U.S. For an in-depth look at how the song happened, click here.

SOCAN Creative Executive, Los Angeles, Racquel Villagante presented the award plaque to Reid on Aug. 22, 2022, while celebrating with a lunch at The Rooftop by JG in Beverly Hills.

SOCAN congratulates Emily Reid, and the co-writers, publishers, and performers of “Boys,” on this great achievement!

Oli Féra has won the finals of the Grand concours Hydro-Québec, the central event of the 2022 Festival international de la chanson de Granby, held on Aug 24, 2022. The theatrical singer-songwriter Féra won over a jury of about 100 music industry professionals, tasked with choosing the top finalist of the five who took the stage for a final performance. Their selection was based on the artists’ originality, the quality of their repertoire and delivery, and their professional maturity.

Féra thus earns a $25,000 career development grant, as well as eight other awards that will certainly help her follow in the footsteps of past winners such as Lisa LeBlanc (2010), Patrice Michaud (2009), Alexandre Désilets (2006), Pierre Lapointe (2001), Lynda Lemay (1989), Luc de Larochelière (1986), and Jean Leloup (1983).

The other four finalists don’t walk away empty-handed, since the festival offers plenty of awards and prizes: Maude Sonier won five, La Charpie four, Chino two, and Zéphyr Bielinski one. Overall, these various prizes are worth a total of more than $100,000.

Congratulations to Oli Féra and the other four finalists!

For complete details, visit

After four nights of semi-finals, the 2022 Festival international de la chanson de Granby (FICG) jury has chosen the artists who’ll go on to the next stage. They’ll participate in the Finale of the Grand Concours Hydro-Québec, on Wednesday, Aug. 24, at 7:30 p.m. ET at the Palace de Granby. The finalists are: La Charpie, Maude Sonier, Chino, Zéphyr Bielinski, and Oli Féra. Each finalist will receive a $1,000 cash prize.

Festival international de la chanson de Granby 2022

Guillaume Laroche alongside FICG Executive Director Geneviève Côté.

Many other honours were also presented to several of the 24 semi-finalists, including the SOCAN “Coup de cœur de la cohorte” $1,000 cash prize, awarded to Guillaume Laroche. Awarded by a vote held in the semi-finalist group, the honour is based on values such as collaboration, team spirit, mutual aid, open-mindedness, and leadership – values shared by SOCAN.

“They’re such nice people, the gang I’m with at the moment, so it’s very touching,” said Laroche, who’s from Rouyn-Noranda, to the local weekly Le Citoyen. “Knowing that I’ve had a positive influence on people, an open-mindedness, some form of leadership, I think that’s one of the nicest awards I could have received. It’s a mark of respect that I truly appreciate.”

As for the public, they chose La Charpie, who received the $1,000 cash Prix du public Yves-Gagnon offered by the City of Granby, and also gains access to the Grand Finale.

The following prizes were also awarded during the evening:

La Charpie won the Prix LOJIQ; she’ll be invited to participate in the 2023 edition of the Rencontres de la chanson francophone D’Astaffort, sponsored by Francis Cabrel. The registration and transportation fees will be paid by the Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec and the FICG.

The $1,000 Prix de la chanson populaire Tim Hortons, was awarded to Guillaume Laroche. Nearly 7,500 Internet users visited the Festival’s website to vote for his song “Vélo volant.”

Maude Sonier is the recipient of the $1,000 Coup de plume SPACQ Award for the quality of her lyrics, as well as their relationship to the music, of her song “Les saisons.” She’ll receive a one-year membership in SPACQ.

Zéphyr Bielinski won the Prix École nationale de la chanson, through which he’ll benefit from a 12-hour personalized training course in Granby or Montréal.

Tristan Guay won the The Prix Disques Passeport—Taxi Promo, which consists of a distribution contract, a digital promotion campaign, press relations, and mentoring on the marketing of a project.

Productions Flèche presented Zephyr Bielinski with a paid performance during the third edition of the Escale Tour in 2023.

Congratulations to the winners of the sem-ifinals and good luck to the five finalists!

For complete details, visit