SOCAN was pleased and proud to present wild and irrepressible rock band The Beaches with a No. 1 Song Award for writing “Blame Brett,” which topped the Mediabase Alternative Chart on July 3, 2023.

Receiving the award, along with Beaches members Jordan Miller, Kylie Miller, Leandra Earl, and Eliza Enman-McDaniel, were “Blame Brett” co-writers Lowell and Gus Van Go (who produced the song as well).

Lowell was also presented with a second No. 1 Song Award, for co-writing LU KALA’s “Nothing But Love,” which topped the CBC Music Top 20 Countdown chart on Feb. 29, 2024.

SOCAN CEO Jennifer Brown, and Director, Creative, Cameron Kennedy, presented the award to The Beaches and their co-writers at Gus Van Go’s recording studio in downtown Toronto, on the afternoon of April 12, 2024.

SOCAN congratulates The Beaches, Lowell, and Gus Van Go on this great achievement!

The Beaches, Blame Brett, video

Select the image to play the YouTube video of The Beaches’ song “Blame Brett”