SOCAN presented the band Valley, and their publisher, Sony Music Publishing Canada, with a No. 1 Song Award for their song “Break for You,” which scaled the peak of the CBC Music Top 20 Countdown on June 29, 2023.

“Break for You” was co-written by band members (and SOCAN members) Rob Laska, Michael Brandolino, Alex Dimauro, and Karah James, along with Mathijs Kriebel (SOCAN), David Pramik (N/A), and Peter Fenn (N/A), and published by Sony Music Publishing Canada.

Receiving the No. 1 Song Award, in addition to the Valley band member co-writers, were Sony Music Publishing Canada representatives Gary Furniss, David Quilico, and Mishelle Pack. (The other SOCAN co-writer of “Break for You,” Mathijs Kriebel, will be awarded at a later date.) The trophies were presented by SOCAN Director, Creative, Cameron Kennedy; Creative Executive, East Coast, Houtan Hodania; and Account Executive Hari Sridhar.

SOCAN congratulates the members of Valley, their co-writers, and Sony Music Publishing Canada on this great achievement!

Valley, Break for You

Select the image to play the YouTube video of the Valley song “Break for You”