SOCAN is proud to be among the funding organizations supporting the National Indigenous Music Impact Study — the first of its kind in Canada — which will examine the strengths, challenges, successes and opportunities in the Indigenous music industry in Canada.

The study is looking to hear from any and every person involved in the Indigenous music community; anybody who creates, promotes, and/or supports it in Canada. The study hopes to create a better understanding of the contribution and impact of the community on Canada, with a view to use the resulting information to strengthen and grow it, and its music business, in Canada.

You can support the future of Indigenous music in Canada by completing the survey, and all respondents will have their names entered in two draws, each with a $1,000 cash prize. To help shape the future, and get a chance to win cash, click here!

From the 2018 SOCAN Awards, our members reveal their favourite songwriters, or best-loved songs, as we hear from Burton Cummings, Sarah McLachlan, Dear Rouge, Alysha Brilla, Murray McLauchlan, and Shawn Hook. The first answer might surprise you!

The Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique (APCM) has announced the artists nominated in the 10th edition of the Trille Or Awards Gala, set for May 2, 2019, at the Centre des Arts Shenkman in Orléans, Ontario. A total of 76 artists and professionals of the Franco-Canadian music industry are nominated in 29 categories. Leading the nominations are SOCAN members Damien Robitaille, Étienne Fletcher, Marie-Clo, Mclean, Jacobus, and Cindy Doire.

The biennial gala is constantly evolving to mirror the evolution of Franco-Canadian music. As a result, the Best Artist — Male and Best Artist — Female categories have been merged and abolish the gender distinction. The new Best Solo Artist will reward a single artist, regardless of their gender. In another first, the Trille Or Gala has added five new categories added to its lineup of awards: jazz, rock, roots, urban music and pop.

From April 29 to May 2, 2019, during the Francophone Music Week, Trille Or will offer a diversified program of conferences, a studio pitch, networking events, showcases, the Trille Or industry event, the Awards Gala itself, and much more. Detailed programming will be announced March 26, 2019.

For the second time, the Gala des prix Trille Or will be televised, live and across Canada on Unis TV, which will contribute to promote Francophonie from sea to shining sea.

SOCAN will once again present the Best Songwriter Award, as well as a discussion panel on co-writing during the week of activities leading up to the Gala.

Here are the nominees in a few of the categories. For a complete list, visit the Gala des prix Trille Or website.

Best Songwriter
Cindy Doire
Damien Robitaille
Étienne Fletcher

Best Solo Artist
Damien Robitaille
Étienne Fletcher
Mélissa Ouimet

Best Band
Amélie et Les Singes Bleus
Georgian Bay
Jérémie & The Delicious Hounds
Les Rats d’Swompe

Best Album
Alexis Normand — Alexis Normand
Céleste Lévis — Donne-moi le temps
Cindy Doire — Panorama
Damien Robitaille — Univers Parallèles
Mclean — Une dernière fois

Breakthrough Artist or Band
Étienne Fletcher
Jérémie & The Delicious Hounds
Les Rats d’Swompe

Best Song
Damien Robitaille — “Tout feu, tout flame”
Étienne Fletcher — “Chérie, Chéri”
Mélissa Ouimet — “Amours jetables”
Rayannah — “En attendant demain”
YAO — « Nomades”