Submissions are now open for the 2023 JUNO Awards Submissions, until Friday, Oct. 28, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. ET, and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) is encouraging any and all eligible music creators to apply now.

To submit, and see the rules for eligibility, click here. To be considered for nomination for the 2023 JUNO Awards, national music release dates must fall between the period of  Sept. 1, 2021 and Nov. 4, 2022.

The 2022 JUNO Awards accepted a total of 235 nominations across 46 categories. Of these, 105 (44 percent) were first-time nominees, and within this total group, first-time JUNO Award winners accounted for a striking 64 percent. Sixty-five per cent of these first-time award winners were artists who identify as a woman, or artist groups with woman-identifying representation.

“Canada is home to an incredible breadth of musical talent, across so many genres,” said Allan Reid, President and CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards. “With such an accessible submissions process, our goal is to help artists – no matter where they’re at in their career – dream big, champion their craft, and put their name forward for these opportunities.”

SOCAN member FKA Rayne won a first-place prize in the Screenshot category of the 2022 Unsigned Only song competition, for her song “Sour Candy.”

SOCAN members, or acts featuring SOCAN members, also earned 16 honorable mentions in various categories. Four members each earned double such recognitions for their work: Nate Haller, Madison Olds, Lisa Swarbrick MusiCollective, and Madalen Duke.

Scot Free Sessions, for “Ford Motel”
Lisa Swarbrick MusiCollective, for “Gravesender”

Kevin Adams & Voices of Praise, for “Give You the Glory”

Nate Haller, for both “Broken” and “Lightning in a Bottle”
Josh Ross, for “First Taste of Gone”

Duff Kelly, for “Holy Lady”

Pop/Top 40
Madison Olds, for “Average”

Madalen Duke, for “How Villains Are Made”

Saya, for “Novocaine”

Snotty Nose Rez Kids, for “Uncle Rico”
Lex Leosis, for “Wanted”

Madalen Duke, for “How Villains Are Made”
Madison Olds, for “Hero”
Lisa Swarbrick MusiCollective, for “Gravesender”
Richard Tichelman, for “Missing You”

SOCAN congratulates all of our winning members on these achievements. For a complete list of winners, and to hear the winning songs, click here.

On Oct. 17, 2022, the 33rd annual SOCAN Awards will honour the outstanding achievements of Canada’s most prestigious songwriters, composers, and music publishers. The theme of this year’s event, “Life is a Highway,” is inspired by Tom Cochrane’s iconic hit, which continues to inspire, uplift, and impact Canadians and the music industry.

This year also marks the inaugural Vince Fontaine Indigenous Song Award, named in honour of the late First Nations singer-songwriter, SOCAN member, and co-founder of the JUNO Award-winning duo Eagle & Hawk. The first-ever award will be received by hip-hop duo Snotty Nose Rez Kids and rapper Drezus, who, through their music, continue to shed light on the tough issues impacting the Indigenous community in Canada. Vince’s latest work – “Code Red” by Indian City – was released Sept. 30, 2022, to coincide with the second National Day for Truth & Reconciliation.

“It’s an honour, and so important, that we introduce the Vince Fontaine Indigenous Song Award to the 2022 Awards,” said Jennifer Brown, CEO of SOCAN. “Vince Fontaine helped bring Indigenous-created music to the mainstream. He served as a pillar for the community, and an inspiration to up-and-coming Indigenous artists. Snotty Nose Rez Kids and Drezus have cemented their place in the Canadian music scene, not just as music creators, but as voices and activists for the Indigenous community.”

The 2022 Special Achievement Winners are:

  • Tom Cochrane – With more than one billion(!) streams and counting, two JUNOs, a Billboard Top 10 in three countries, and dozens of licensing deals with companies and causes eager to leverage the power of his message, Tom Cochrane’s “Life is a Highway” is a timeless classic. For writing a song that, for three decades, has served as a soundtrack for the open road and the wonderful experience of living, Cochrane will be presented with the SOCAN Cultural Impact Award.
  • OZ – Ozan Yildirim, known professionally as OZ, is a Grammy-nominated record producer and songwriter who’s produced hits for many high-profile artists, including Drake (“Toosie Slide”), and Travi$ Scott (“Sicko Mode”). For his contributions to hits in 2021 that have taken the world by storm, OZ will receive the SOCAN International Achievement Award.
  • DrakeBeyond music, Drake has impacted culture, and continues to lead the way in the industry. Continuing to break streaming, sales, and chart records, Drake is the recipient of this year’s SOCAN Songwriter of The Year – Performer Award.
  • Koz – Stephen Kozmeniuk, known professionally as Koz, is a Grammy-nominated producer from Whitehorse, Yukon, whose credits include major hits from artists like Nicki Minaj, Dua Lipa, Lights, and Meek Mill. For his contributions to many of 2021’s biggest hits, Koz will be presented with the SOCAN Songwriter of The Year – Producer Award.
  • Keith Power – The multi-faceted, Newfoundland-born composer has created the scores for more than 700 episodes on network television. For his continued contributions to the world of film and TV, Power will be honoured for a record fifth SOCAN Screen Composer of the Year Award.
  • bbno$ – The Canadian rapper and singer from Vancouver has released several successful singles, including the TikTok viral hit “edamame” with Rich Brian, and “Lalala” with Y2K. The hit-maker is slated to go on a headlining tour later this year with one of North America’s hottest rising rappers, Yung Gravy, continuing the momentum of a phenomenal year. As a nod to his success, bbno$ will be honoured with the SOCAN Breakout Songwriter Award.
  • La Zarra – La Zarra may be a late bloomer with no formal vocal training, but there’s no question that her songwriting chops and vocal prowess stand up among the greats. A star on the rise, La Zarra will be celebrated with the SOCAN Breakout Songwriter Award – Francophone.
  • Evan MacDonald – In February 2022, MacDonald was named by SOCAN as a “Composer to Watch For.” MacDonald has lived up to the accolades, and for his exceptional work in 2021. has earned this year’s SOCAN Breakout Composer Award.

The 2022 SOCAN Awards are sure to be an unforgettable night of music, with live performances by Nonso Amadi, Alicia Creti, Drezus, High Valley, La Zarra, Lifehouse, Snotty Nose Rez Kids, a tribute to OZ by DJ TLO, and a special performance of Tom Cochrane’s “Life is a Highway” by Bill Bell, Dala, Davide Direnzo, Molly Johnson, Jeff Jones, Alex Lifeson, Sam Roberts, and Julian Taylor.

The SOCAN Awards have been held in Toronto annually since 1990. The 2022 Gala de la SOCAN, celebrating and honouring the work of SOCAN’s Francophone members, will be held on May 7, 2023 in Montréal.