The Weeknd is nominated for a leading six JUNO Awards in 2023, while Tate McRae and Avril Lavigne have earned five nominations each. All of them are running in four key categories: Single, Album, and Pop Album of The Year, as well as the Fan Choice Award. Both The Weeknd and McRae are also nominated for the Songwriter of the Year Award, presented by SOCAN, while The Weeknd and Lavigne earned nods as well for Artist of the Year.

Close behind with three nominations apiece are Preston Pablo, Rêve, The Reklaws, NAV, and Shawn Mendes – all of them earnking the nod for the Fan Choice Award – except NAV, the only one of this grouping who’s nominated for Album of the Year, and Banx & Ranx, nominated for Single, Breakthrough Group, and Producer of the Year.

The nominees for the Songwriter of the Year Award, presented by SOCAN, are:

  • The Weeknd
  • Faouzia
  • Tate McRae
  • Tenille Townes
  • TOBi

Aysanabee, Alexisonfire, and Jessie Reyez will be joining the already-confirmed performers for the 2023 Gala JUNO Awards ceremony on Monday, March 13: Nickelback, Tate McRae, Tenille Townes, AP Dhillon, and Banx & Ranx with Preston Pablo and Rêve. The show will be broadcast live from Rogers Place in Edmonton, on CBC, CBC Radio One, CBC Music, the free CBC Gem streaming service in Canada, and globally at

The nominations for Classical Composition of the Year are:

  • Anthony Tan for An Overall Augmented Sense of Well-Being
  • Bekah Simms for Bestiary I & II
  • Keyan Emami for The Black Fish
  • Nicole Lizée for Prayers for Ruins
  • Vincent Ho for Supervillain Études

Francophone Album of the Year nominees are:

  • Ariane Roy for medium plaisir
  • Daniel Bélanger for Mercure en mai
  • Hubert Lenoir for PICTURA DE IPSE : Musique directe
  • Les Louanges for Crash
  • Lisa LeBlanc for Chiac Disco

In addition to presenting the Songwriter of the Year Award, SOCAN is once again the co-presenting sponsor (with FACTOR) of the JUNO Songwriters’ Circle – widely known as “The Jewel of the JUNO Week” – with host and performers TBD. Past participants include Paul Brandt, Alex Cuba, Ria Mae, Randy Bachman, Shad, July Talk, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Jann Arden, Joel Plaskett, Johnny Reid, Ron Sexsmith, and Dan Mangan.

For a complete list of award nominees, visit the JUNO Awards website.