Thierry Larose, Francos, 2022Thierry Larose, whose song “Les amants de Pompéi” earned the 2021 SOCAN Songwriting Prize, continues to garner honours. On June 18, 2022, he won the 2022 edition of the prestigious Prix Félix-Leclerc. The official presentation took place at the beginning of his Francos de Montréal show, as he was about to share the stage with Ariane Roy and Lou-Adriane Cassidy for a three-way concept show entitled “Le roy, la rose, et le lou(p)”. (“The King, The Rose, and The Wolf”)

Thierry Larose thus becomes the latest in a long list of young singer-songwriters that have benefited from the prize, awarded simultaneously to a Québecois and an artist from France – Zinée being this year’s winner of the cross-Atlantic counterpart.

SOCAN has once again partnered with the Prix Félix-Leclerc by awarding Larose a $2,500 cash prize, presented in person by SOCAN Creative and Partnerships Executive Sara Dendane. The cash prize is one of the many advantages attached to this award; the singer-songwriter also gets a $2,500 cash prize from Groupe Editorial Musinfo, an invitation to perform at the Francofolies de La Rochelle, as well as a $10,000 cash prize from Cogeco Média.

The winner of the Prix Félix-Leclerc is chosen by a jury of journalists and industry representatives selected by the FrancoFolies de Montréal. Thierry Larose was nominated, along with SOCAN members Ariane Roy, Étienne Coppée, LUMIÈRE, Étienne Dufresne, Lou-Adriane Cassidy, Lysandre, Marilyne Léonard, and Nicolas Gémus.

Congratulations Thierry Larose!