The deluge of 2019 Félix trophies began to rain down on Oct. 23 with the Premier Gala de l’ADISQ, as well as the Industry Gala, in Montréal, with a total of 43 trophies presented.

Among the SOCAN members who stood out during the galas were Vincent Roberge, aka Les Louanges, who won three of them, for Best Arrangement, Best Album – Alternative, and Best Album – Critic’s Choice. This year, SOCAN partnered with ADISQ to present the award for the Artist with the Highest International Profile, which went to the flamboyant Hubert Lenoir. We met with him in the press room for a video interview just after he accepted his honour (see left).

Among the evening’s other winners were:

  • Jesse Mac Cormack: Album of the Year – Anglophone, for Now
  • Elisapie: Album of the Year – Other Languages, for The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
  • Paul Daraîche: Album of the Year – Country, for Ma maison favorite
  • Alexandra Stréliski: Album of the Year – Instrumental, for INSCAPE
  • Dominique Fils-Aimé: Album of the Year – Jazz, for Stay Tuned!
  • Ginette Reno: Album of the Year – Best-Seller, for À jamais
  • Millimetrik: Album of the Year – Electronic Music, for Make It Last Forever
  • Wesli: Album of the Year – World Music, for Rapadou Kreyol
  • Éric Lapointe: Album of the Year – Rock, for Délivrance
  • Le Vent du Nord & De Temps Antan: Album of the Year – Roots, for Notre album solo
  • Milk & Bone: Show of the Year – Anglophone, for Deception Bay
  • Alaclair Ensemble: Video of the Year, for “La famille”

Several SOCAN members offered outstanding performances during the Premier Gala de l’ADISQ (hosted by Pierre Lapointe), including Alaclair Ensemble, Dominique Fils-Aimé, Éric Lapointe, Florent Vollant, Jérôme50, Lou-Adriane Cassidy, Pierre Lapointe himself, Safia Nolin, and Voivod.

The show will be available online on Oct. 24, 2019, and will be aired again on Oct. 27, at 5:00 p.m. ET, on Télé-Québec. This 41st annual celebration of the Québec music industry will conclude on Oct. 27 with the televised Gala, that will once again be hosted by comedian Louis-José Houde, and broadcast on ICI Radio-Canada Télé, live from the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier of Place des Arts.

For a complete list of the Premier Gala and Industry gala winners, visit the ADISQ website.

The five winners of the 2019 edition of the SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Canadian Songwriters – created in partnership with Sirius XM Canada Inc. – gathered on Oct. 24, 2019, at the SOCAN offices in Toronto, where they each played their winning song to assembled SOCAN staff in the Harmony Lounge.

The talented, emerging songwriters – each under 21 years of age, and each of whom won $5,000, performed powerful, moving versions of their songs, as follows:

  • Mahmoud Ismail, “Sigada”
  • Lou-Adriane Cassidy, “Poussière”
  • Arianna Ohlsson, “Heaven”
  • Emily Gifford (a.k.a. GRAE), “Your Hands”
  • Kasia Thorlakson (a.k.a. Kasia Leigh), “Love Song #1”

After these short but powerful performances, the quintet enjoyed a catered lunch with SOCAN Foundation Executive Director Charlie Andrews and Administrator of Programs Julien Boumard Coallier.

Then they spent the early afternoon in an educational workshop with Andrews and Coallier, as well as SOCAN A&R Representatives, including the Director, A&R, Rodney Murphy.

SOCAN congratulates these strong young songwriters on their SOCAN Foundation Awards!

East Coast artist and professional songwriter Chris Kirby has more than two million Spotify streams of songs that he’s co-written. He’s the touring keyboardist for Matt Andersen (and co-wrote “An Honest Man” with him), and has earned multiple East Coast Music Award nominations, including several for Producer of the Year. Recent producing and co-writing credits include Quote the Raven and Chris Ryan, and Kirby has participated in numerous song camps, sponsored by SOCAN, the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA), and the Songwriters Association of Canada (SAC).

In an exclusive video interview with SOCAN on the release of his first album in seven years, What Goes Around, Kirby talks about what he’s learned from song camps; how he came up with some of the album’s most striking lyrical lines; and more seriously, how he and Damhnait Doyle co-wrote “Unreasonable Doubt” – the moving story of a sexual assault trial destined for an unhappy end, told from the perspective of the judge.