ADISQ kicked off its awards ceremonies cycle with the presentation of the first two of three galas, where Québec’s music industry was gathered. A total of 45 Félix trophies were awarded during the Premier Gala de l’ADISQ, hosted by Sarahmée, as well as the industry awards gala, that took place at Montréal’s MTELUS and Place des Arts’ Piano Nobile, respectively, on Nov. 1, 2023.

Among the SOCAN members who stood out, Daniel Bélanger was the favourite with nine artistic and industry nominations. Unable to attend, he won three, including the coveted Album of the Year – Critics’ Choice and Album of the Year – Pop for Mercure en mai. Philippe Brach also won three trophies, two Félix at the Gala de l’industrie, and Album of the Year – Alternative at the Premier Gala for Les gens qu’on aime.

We met Richard Séguin in the press room just after he picked up Album of the Year – Folk for Les liens les lieux, and asked about his impressions of the win, and the pace of his songwriting.

SOCAN, ADISQ Gala, 2023, Richard Séguin

Select the image to play the French YouTube video interview with Richard Séguin (English subtitled version to come.)

Other awards were presented to:

  • Ginette Reno: Album of the Year – Adult Contemporary C’est tout moi
  • Matt Holubowski: Album of the Year – Anglophone Like Flowers on a Molten Lawn
  • Valaire: Album of the Year – Multilingual or Other Languages Jazz Futon
  • Francis Degrandpré: Album of the Year – Country Soir de quai
  • Anomalie : Album of the Year – Jazz Galerie
  • Shauit : Album of the Year – Indigenous languages Natukun
  • Alexandra Stréliski : Album of the Year – Instrumental Music Néo-Romance
  • Pierre Kwenders: Album of the Year – World Music José Louis and the Paradox of Love
  • Loud: Album of the Year – Rap Aucune promesse
  • Les Cowboys Fringants : Album of the Year – Re-interpretation En concert avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal
  • Les Trois Accords : Album of the Year – Rock Présence d’esprit
  • Le Vent du Nord, Le Quatuor Trad, Philippe Prud’homme : Album of the Year – Traditional Les voix du Vent avec cordes et piano
  • Jonathan Roy : Live Show of the Year – Anglophone Life Distortions Tour
  • Salebarbes: Live Show of the Year – Variety/Re-interpretations Salebarbes
  • Clay & Friends: Live Show of the Year – Multilingual or Other Languages AGUÀ
  • Ariane Roy: Video of the Year – Kundah

Premier Gala ADISQ 2023At the Industry Gala, the Félix award for Publishing Team of the Year, presented by APEM – who collaborated with ADISQ to reintroduce this honour after several dormant years – went to Third Side Music. Homage was also paid to Rosaire Archambault, former member of the Board of Directors of SOCAN and ADISQ, among others, for his impressive career. The late Guy Latraverse, another major contributor to Québec show business, also received a posthumous tribute.

Naomi won the $10,000 Bell Media Breakout Artist cash prize. For its second edition, the Collegial Song of the Year Award, a $5,000 cash prize, went to Gab Bouchard for “Dépotoir.” This prize was awarded by a jury composed of students from 19 cégeps in Québec.

A number of SOCAN members performed at the Premier Gala de l’ADISQ, including Ariane Roy, Bleu Jeans Bleu, Jay Scøtt and Mike Clay, Les Shirley, Les sœurs Boulay, Matiu, Shauit, Shreez, Zach Zoya, and Sarahmée, who hosted the event for the first time.

The show is available to watch online Nov. 3, 2023, and will be aired on Nov. 5, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. ET on Télé-Québec. This 45th annual celebration of the Québec music industry will conclude on Sunday, Nov. 5, 2023 at 8:00 p.m. ET with the televised Gala, once again hosted by comedian Louis-José Houde, and broadcast on ICI Radio-Canada Télé live from the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier of Place des Arts.

For a complete list of the Premier Gala and Industry gala winners, access the ADISQ website.