The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame was pleased to welcome four talented emerging songwriters to its three-day 2021 Incubator Program, held online from Nov. 17-19, 2021. The program consisted of former participants of SOCAN Foundation’s TD Incubator for Creative Entrepreneurship program.

It was an exciting three days for T. Thomason, GRAE, Nuela Charles, and Charmie Deller, as they participated in mini-information sessions with industry professionals, a SOCAN Song Camp, and a listening party with a panel discussion.

The songwriters started the program with a full day of 101 sessions with various industry experts at Spotify, Apple Music, TikTok, Indie88 Toronto, Sony Music Canada, and Music Publishers Canada.

Day Two was filled with song camps curated by SOCAN’s A&R creative team. Each songwriter ended the day with a new song, after collaborating with some of the participating songwriters and producers: Nick Mete, Emily Persich, Caleb Jacob, Sam Woywitka, Umair Ali, Electric Neon Clouds, Michelle Treacy, Tony Range, and Michelle Pereira.

Finally, each of the songwriters shared their song from the camp, along with an unreleased one of their choice, to a panel of industry professionals, for feedback and an open discussion. Among the panelists were singer-songwriters Jenson Vaughan, Lowell, and Savannah Ré, as well as Cheryl Link (Senior Creative Director, peermusic) and Melissa Emert-Hutner (VP of Creative, Kobalt).

The program was a great success, and the CSHF is excited to see where the songwriting careers of the residents end up.

Dallas Smith was the big winner at the 2021 Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMAs), where he took home three honours – for Entertainer, Male Artist, Single of the Year (for “Like A Man”), and Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year (for Timeless) – as the ceremony was live-streamed from London, Ontario, on the Global TV App and Prime Video, and broadcast live on radio stations Country 105 (Calgary), CISN (Edmonton), and Country 104 (London).

SOCAN presented the Songwriters of the Year Award to the co-writers of Lady A’s No. 1 hit song “Champagne Night,” including SOCAN members Madeline Merlo, Dave “Dwave” Thomson,  and Patricia Conroy (as well as Ester Dean, Andrew DeRoberts, Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Shane McAnally, Tina Parol, Hillary Scott, and Ryan Tedder). Conroy, a member of SOCAN’s Board of Directors, was also inducted into the  Canadian Country Music Association Hall of Fame.

Tenille Townes earned two awards, for Female Artist and Album of the Year (for The Lemonade Stand), while Brett Kissel won the Fans’ Choice Award for the third year in a row. The Reklaws also earned two honours, for Group or Duo of the Year and Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year (for their collaboration with co-winner Dean Brody, “Can’t Help Myself”).

Warner Chappell Music Canada earned the Music Publishing Company of the Year Award, while Robyn Ottolini received her first CCMA honour with the Rising Star Award. Lindsay Ell, who co-hosted the live-streamed awards (along with Canada’s Drag Race season one winner Priyanka), also won for Interactive Artist or Group of the Year.

For a full list of the live-streamed award winners, click here; for the industry awards gala winners, click here. The awards will be broadcast on Friday, Dec. 3, 2021, at 9:00 p.m. ET/PT on Global.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members who won Canadian Country Music Awards this year!

SOCAN is pleased to welcome Gagan Singh as A&R Executive, Film/TV & Visual Media, a new role created to focus on the development of our screen composer members.

In his new role, Singh will work to strengthen relationships with screen composers, along with film/television music ecosystem influencers, both in Canada and globally. He’ll meet with screen composers to support their needs from business and creative perspectives, alongside the Film/TV Account Executive team in Membership.

Singh is already working to develop workshops and education initiatives that will benefit and expand the knowledge areas of trends and best practices among the emerging screen composer community. He also serves as a strategic liaison between composers and industry associations.

Gagan is a successful composer, and sits on the Board of Directors of the Screen Composers Guild of Canada (SCGC), so he has a first-hand understanding of the challenges and interests of screen composers. He’s dedicated his career to the craft of music for media, and has a proven track record in many facets of music production, voice directing, and delivering high-quality content to various clients. Gagan also has a tremendous understanding of Canada’s multi-cultural and pluralist musical landscapes, and serves as co-chair of SCGC’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee.

He comes to SOCAN from the Songwriters Association of Canada (SAC), where he served as Assistant Director of Special Projects, working alongside the Executive Director to foster and grow their songwriter mentorship programs. This allowed him to further develop programming for emerging and established members of SAC.

Before joining the SAC, he was at Hard Music Group, a Sony Music-affiliated publisher, working as Product Manager, overseeing all aspects of production schedules for album releases and projects.

Singh has garnered a lot of success as a composer, receiving honours from the New York International Film Awards, LEO Awards, and Durham Film Festival, among others. He holds a B.A. as a Specialist, Arts Managers, Music & Media, from the University of Toronto.