The 2021 edition of the Gala Alternatif de la Musique Indépendante du Québec (GAMIQ) took place, in front of a live audience and online, on Dec. 5, 2021, at Café Campus, in Montréal. A total of 32 Luciens (the trophy named after Lucien Francoeur, leader of the legendary band Aut’Chose) were handed out.

Among the most prestigious awards were two that went to Laurence-Anne, who won the Artist of the Year award, as well as the Indie-Rock EP award for Accident, while the Revelation of the Year Award went to Valence. The two prizes in the Rap/Hip-Hop categories were both awarded to women: Calamine (for her album Bullet Proof), and Marie-Gold (for her EP Règle deux).

The evening was hosted by Kayiri and set to music by the very in-your-face Fuck Toute. It also featured, as usual, several performances highlighting the diversity and richness of the Québec independent music scene, including those by Éric Goulet, The Blaze Velluto Collection, Meggie Lennon, Paul Cargnello, Willows, R41NBOW TR4$H, Super Plage, Guim Moro, Après l’asphalte, Rosario Caméléon, and Kaya Hoax, all of whom performed between the awards, celebrating the vitality of Quebec’s emerging music scene.

Here’s the complete list of the winners of the 16th edition of GAMIQ:

  • Artist of the Year: Laurence-Anne
  • Espoir 2022 : Meggie Lennon
  • Revelation of the Year: Valence
  • Rock Album of the Year: The Blaze Velluto Collection— We Are Sunshine
  • Rock EP of the Year: Dany Placard—Astronomie (suite)
  • Country Album or EP: Léa Jarry — L’heure d’été
  • Album or EP : Cédric Dind-Lavoie – Archives
  • Album or EP OFF Quebec: P’tit Belliveau –… chante Baptiste
  • Jazz album or EP: Misc—Partager l’ambulance
  • Experimental Album or EP: Bell Orchestre – House Music
  • World Album or EP: Pierre Kwenders & Clément Bazin – Classe Tendresse
  • Metal Album or EP: Thisquietarmy x Away (Michel Langevin)— The Singularity, Phase I
  • Punk Album or EP : Maxime Gervais – Une nouvelle forme de joie
  • Electro Album: Super Plage – Super Plage II
  • Electro EP: Navet Confit – Skydancer EP
  • Folk Album : Québec Redneck Bluegrass Project— J’ai bu
  • Folk EP : Maude Audet – Sessions de mai
  • Rap/Hip-Hop album : Calamine – Boulette Proof
  • Rap/Hip-Hop EP : Marie-Gold—Règle deux
  • Pop Album : Gab Paquet –La Force d’Éros
  • Pop EP: Beat Sexü—Deuxième chance
  • Indie-Rock Album: Antoine Corriveau—Pissenlit
  • Indie-Rock EP: Laurence-Anne—Accident
  • Video – People’s Choice: Les Hay Babies – En Californie
  • Video – Critics’ Choice : Jesuslesfilles – Troisième semaine
  • Cultural initiative: Aire Ouverte
  • Festival: Festival BleuBleu
  • Producer of the Year: Musique Nomade
  • Press Relations: Larissa Relations Médias
  • Record Label of the Year: Pantoum Records
  • Management Team: Ambiances Ambigues
  • Media: CISM
  • Venue: L’Esco


Women in Music Canada invites individuals throughout the Canadian music ecosystem to sign up today to the organization’s official directory. It’s a valuable resource to connect to women and people of under-represented gender identity across the country, and a way to expand one’s professional network and gain more career opportunities

The Women in Music Canada directory is the only nationwide resource for music organizations and businesses to find talented and experienced women and under-represented gender identity professionals to fill roles within their company, tour, board, conference panels, and more. It presents a clear opportunity for Canadian music organizations of all kinds to be part of ongoing change to create more diversity, equity, and inclusion in every part of our industry.

The Women in Music Canada (WIMC) directory is supported by FACTOR, the Government of Canada, and Ontario Creates.

Sign up and join today!

SOCAN Vice President,  Member and Industry Relations, Vanessa Thomas, presented SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards to the co-writers of three chart-topping country songs, during the 2021 Canadian Country  Music Association Awards week: Tenille Townes’ “Jersey on The Wall,” Tim Hicks’ “No Truck Song,” and James Barker Band’s “Over All Over Again.”

Thomas – along with SOCAN CEO Jennifer Brown, SOCAN Board of Directors President Marc Ouellette, and SOCAN’s Jean-Christian Céré, Kathryn Hamilton, and Sara Dendane – presented the No. 1 Award for “Jersey on The Wall” to Townes in London, Ontario, during the CCMA Awards weekend, Nov. 26-29, 2021. The song was co-written by Townes, fellow SOCAN member Gordie Sampson, and Tina Parol (SESAC), and published by Red Brick Songs. It reached the top of the Billboard Canada Country Chart on Feb. 1, 2020.

The SOCAN team also presented the No. 1 Award for “No Truck Song” to Hicks and his team. The song was co-written by Hicks, fellow SOCAN member Jeff Coplan, and Bruce Wallace (BMI), published by Tim Hicks Music Inc., and scaled the peak of the Billboard Canada Country Chart on July 4, 2020.

As well, the SOCAN team presented the No. 1 Award for “Over All Over Again,” by James Barker Band, to Barker. The song was co-written by Barker with fellow SOCAN members Todd Clark, Gavin Slate, and Travis Wood, and attained the zenith of the Billboard Canada Country Chart on Sept. 25, 2021.

SOCAN congratulates all of the songwriters and publishers of these chart-topping songs!