Fortunate Ones

Fortunate Ones (Photo: Ryan Nolan)

Singer-songwriter Mark Bragg won the Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award, at the MusicNL Awards, held Oct. 14, at Twillingate, NL, during MusicNL (Newfoundland and Labrador) Week 2018.

SOCAN Director, A&R, Rodney Murphy presented the award to Bragg, who also earned the honours for Male Artist and Alternative Artist of the Year.

Another three-time winner was the duo Fortunate Ones, who earned the FACTOR Album of the Year (for Hold Fast), Pop Artist of the Year, and Video of the Year for “Northern Star,” directed by Jason Levangie. For more information, and a complete list of MusicNL 2018 winners, click here.

During the MusicNL Week conference, Murphy took part in a Rights & Royalties panel and met with many of our Newfoundland based members.

Michael McCarty, SOCAN’s Chief Membership & Business Development Officer, will be inducted into the Canadian Music & Broadcast Industry Hall of Fame at Canadian Music Week, in Toronto, on May 9, 2019

At SOCAN, McCarty is responsible for leading a department of 40 people across Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver, Los Angeles, and Nashville, engaged in building a roster of 150,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers that includes leading Canadian music creators such as Drake, Alessia Cara, The Weeknd, Shawn Mendes, Frank Dukes, Murda Beatz, Keith Power, Andrew Lockington, Bryan Adams, and Sarah McLachlan. His mandate includes creating and delivering cutting-edge, 21st Century services to current and future SOCAN members, and ensuring that SOCAN extends its place as a vital leader among global music rights organizations, and the choice of Canada’s music creators.

After beginning his career as a recording engineer/producer, working with Jack Richardson and Bob Ezrin, McCarty became Creative Manager at ATV Music in Toronto. Also prior to joining SOCAN, Michael served as President of EMI Music Publishing Canada and President of Canadian rights management company, ole, where he played a key role in the development and international success of many notable SOCAN members. McCarty and his teams have boosted the careers of such artists like Sum 41, Billy Talent, Three Days Grace, Dallas Green, Nelly Furtado, Alexisonfire, Matthew Good, Moist/David Usher, the Pursuit of Happiness, Len, and many more.

With more than 25 years’ experience in the music industry, including his service on the Board of Directors of SOCAN, he was a member of the Canadian Music Publishers Association (CMPA), past director for the Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency (CMRRA), and a founding director of the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Michael will be honoured for his achievements and longstanding career in the music industry at the annual Canadian Music & Broadcast Industry Awards Gala Dinner, at Rebel Entertainment Complex in Toronto.

Dear Rouge won the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year Award for their song “Chains” at the 2018 edition of the Western Canadian Music Awards (WCMAs) in Kelowna on Oct. 14, during the BreakOut West conference. The same night, the duo also won the Pop Artist of the Year honours.

The Grapes of Wrath was enshrined in the Western Canadian Music Association Hall of Fame, while Terry Jacks received the 2018 Heritage Award. “Home for a Rest” by Spirit of the West was inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall Of Fame.

Among the other winners were Jocelyn Morlock, who won the Classical Composer of the Year honour; Snotty Nose Rez Kids who earned the Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year Award; and Alexis Normand, who took home the Francophone Artist of the Year recognition. The complete list of nominees and winners is available here.

SOCAN also presented a Song House writing camp during BreakOut West 2018, allowing our member participants the opportunity to develop the craft of writing a hit song.