The SOCAN Foundation, part of the SOCAN Group of companies, was proud to announce that R&B singer-songwriter Nuela Charles and pop/rock trio Caveboy are the two $5,000 prize recipients of the 2021 Her Music Awards, sponsored by Bandzoogle, held online in during the noon hour (ET) of Feb. 25, 2022.

In a new initiative of the Her Music Awards this year, five $1,000 prize Honourable Mentions were given to Belle Grand Fille, Liza, Robyn Jacob, Stéphanie Hamelin Tomala, and Terez. Additionally, the Songwriters Association of Canada (S.A.C.) and Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ) offered a one-year complimentary membership to the two grand prize recipients.

“I’m thrilled to be one of this year’s Her Music Award recipients,” said Nuela Charles. “Major thank you to SOCAN Foundation and Bandzoogle. I’m excited for this year, and all of the new music I’m preparing to release, so this award definitely means a lot, and will contribute greatly to my career. Thank you!”

“We’re so grateful to the SOCAN Foundation and Bandzoogle for this generous award! Both have played such important supportive roles throughout our career as a band, since the beginning,” said Isabelle Banos of Caveboy, speaking for herself and bandmates Lana Cooney and Mint Simon. “We’re so excited to be able to continue writing and releasing new music, now more than ever! Thank you! We love you!”

“The Her Music Awards are designed to celebrate and support female-identified people building momentum, as music creators on the verge of taking their creative careers to the next level,” said Charlie Wall-Andrews, Executive Director of SOCAN Foundation. “This important initiative previously supported trailblazing artists such as Haviah Mighty and Leela Gilday, and we’re thrilled to congratulate the incredible Caveboy and Nuela Charles as this year’s grand prize recipients. We’re thankful for the support of Bandzoogle and community stakeholders that made the Her Music Awards possible.”

The event  was hosted by Shakura S’Aida, Chair of the Her Music Awards committee.  The recipients were selected by a jury composed of singer-songwriters Jill Barber, Maude Audet, and Danielle McTaggart (of the duo Dear Rouge), as well as Kesi Smyth (General Manager/Human Resources at 604 Records). All applications were evaluated on the basis of the quality of their musical work, career potential, as well as the impact that receiving an award would have on their personal development as an artist.