The Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique (APCM) has announced the artists nominated in the 10th edition of the Trille Or Awards Gala, set for May 2, 2019, at the Centre des Arts Shenkman in Orléans, Ontario. A total of 76 artists and professionals of the Franco-Canadian music industry are nominated in 29 categories. Leading the nominations are SOCAN members Damien Robitaille, Étienne Fletcher, Marie-Clo, Mclean, Jacobus, and Cindy Doire.

The biennial gala is constantly evolving to mirror the evolution of Franco-Canadian music. As a result, the Best Artist — Male and Best Artist — Female categories have been merged and abolish the gender distinction. The new Best Solo Artist will reward a single artist, regardless of their gender. In another first, the Trille Or Gala has added five new categories added to its lineup of awards: jazz, rock, roots, urban music and pop.

From April 29 to May 2, 2019, during the Francophone Music Week, Trille Or will offer a diversified program of conferences, a studio pitch, networking events, showcases, the Trille Or industry event, the Awards Gala itself, and much more. Detailed programming will be announced March 26, 2019.

For the second time, the Gala des prix Trille Or will be televised, live and across Canada on Unis TV, which will contribute to promote Francophonie from sea to shining sea.

SOCAN will once again present the Best Songwriter Award, as well as a discussion panel on co-writing during the week of activities leading up to the Gala.

Here are the nominees in a few of the categories. For a complete list, visit the Gala des prix Trille Or website.

Best Songwriter
Cindy Doire
Damien Robitaille
Étienne Fletcher

Best Solo Artist
Damien Robitaille
Étienne Fletcher
Mélissa Ouimet

Best Band
Amélie et Les Singes Bleus
Georgian Bay
Jérémie & The Delicious Hounds
Les Rats d’Swompe

Best Album
Alexis Normand — Alexis Normand
Céleste Lévis — Donne-moi le temps
Cindy Doire — Panorama
Damien Robitaille — Univers Parallèles
Mclean — Une dernière fois

Breakthrough Artist or Band
Étienne Fletcher
Jérémie & The Delicious Hounds
Les Rats d’Swompe

Best Song
Damien Robitaille — “Tout feu, tout flame”
Étienne Fletcher — “Chérie, Chéri”
Mélissa Ouimet — “Amours jetables”
Rayannah — “En attendant demain”
YAO — « Nomades”

SOCAN is proud to be among the funding organizations supporting the National Indigenous Music Impact Study — the first of its kind in Canada — which will examine the strengths, challenges, successes and opportunities in the Indigenous music industry in Canada.

The study is looking to hear from any and every person involved in the Indigenous music community; anybody who creates, promotes, and/or supports it in Canada. The study hopes to create a better understanding of the contribution and impact of the community on Canada, with a view to use the resulting information to strengthen and grow it, and its music business, in Canada.

You can support the future of Indigenous music in Canada by completing the survey, and all respondents will have their names entered in two draws, each with a $1,000 cash prize. To help shape the future, and get a chance to win cash, click here!

Singer-Songwriter Corey Hart will be inducted into The Canadian Music Hall of Fame during the 2019 JUNO Awards on Sunday, March 17. Hart, who has sold more than 16 million albums worldwide, will take the stage at Budweiser Gardens in London, ON, to perform on live television for the first time in over 20 years. The performance will be part of the 2019 JUNO Awards broadcast live on CBC, CBC Radio, the free CBC Gem streaming service in Canada, and globally at

Hart will join Canadian music icons in the Hall of Fame, including Anne Murray, Joni Mitchell, kd lang, Sarah McLachlan, Leonard Cohen, Neil Young, The Guess Who, and The Tragically Hip.

“I’m deeply humbled by this invitation into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame,” said Hart in a statement. “It’s an incredible honour to be acknowledged alongside so many other talented and venerable Canadian artists. My career goal since the beginning has always been to remain 100 percent authentic to my artistic vision, while embodying the highest respect and dedication towards the craft I love so much.”

In 1983, Hart, hailing from Montréal, released his debut album, First Offense, which took off in Canada, the U.S., and globally. The video for “Sunglasses at Night” quickly became a staple on MTV, and won the first-ever JUNO for Best Video, in 1984. Hart’s second album, Boy in the Box, achieved Diamond status in Canada (1 million plus sales) faster than any other Canadian artist in history. The album had four hit singles, including “Never Surrender,” which was No. 1 in Canada for nine weeks, and won Single of the Year at the 1985 JUNO Awards. Hart has had nine consecutive singles on the U.S. Billboard Top 40, and 11 Top 10s in Canada. He’s been nominated for a Grammy, and earned three SOCAN Awards.

In 1999, Hart took a hiatus from touring and recording to focus on his family, but still wrote and produced several songs for Céline Dion. In 2003, he started Siena Records, where he continues to act as President. In 2014, after 12 years off from live performing, Hart made a comeback in his hometown at the Bell Centre with a show called “One Night – Three Decades of Music.” He simultaneously launched his autobiography, Chasing the Sun.

Today, Hart releases “Dreaming Time Again,” the first official single from his forthcoming EP of the same name, produced by Bob Ezrin, slated for release May 3, 2019. It’s his first new music in 20 years, and comes ahead of his cross-Canada Never Surrender Tour.