We were treated to a totally unprecedented Premier Gala de l’ADISQ last Wednesday when SOCAN member Pierre Lapointe hosted the event remotely between Place des Arts and Théâtre Corona, in Montréal, where 21 Félix Awards were presented.

The list of SOCAN members being honoured was headed by the members of Cowboys Fringants, who collected three Félix Awards for Album of the Year – Bestselling Album (Les Antipodes), Album of the Year – Rock, and Video of the Year for “L’Amérique pleure.” Marie-Pierre Arthur took home the two Félix Awards for Album of the Year – Critics’ Choice, and Album of the Year – Alternative for Des feux pour voir, and Patrick Watson also scored a double victory with Album of the Year – Anglophone (Wave) and Show of the Year – Anglophone.

Once again this year, SOCAN partnered with ADISQ to present the Félix Award for the Artist with the highest international profile, which was given to the composer-performer Alexandra Stréliski. We talked with her remotely the day after her victory to learn more about the expansion of her success, and about the situation currently preventing her from performing on the world’s stages.

Other awards were presented to:

  • The Nikamu Mamuitun – Chansons Rassembleuses artist collective: Album of the Year – Other Languages;
  • Patrick Norman: Album of the Year – Country “Si on y allait”;
  • Jacques Kuba Séguin: Album of the Year – Jazz “Migrations”;
  • Zal Sissokho: Album of the Year – World Music “Kora Flamenca”;
  • Salebarbes: Album of the Year – Traditional “Live au Pas Perdus”;
  • Elisapie : Show of the Year – Other Languages “The Ballad of the Runaway Girl”;
  • Alaclair Ensemble: Video of the Year “La famille”

SOCAN members performing live during the ADISQ’s Premier Gala included Cindy Bédard, FouKi and Alicia Moffet, Les Hay Babies, Matt Lang, Miro, Nikamu Mamuitun – Chansons Rassembleuses, Nomadic Massive, P’tit Belliveau, Salebarbes, and Sarahmée.

The program can still be viewed online, and will be broadcast again Nov. 1, 2020, from 5:00 PM on Télé-Québec. The 42nd annual celebration of the Quebec recording and live music industry will continue that day, hosted once again this year by comedian Louis-José Houde.

For a complete list of Industry Gala and Premier Gala winners, please go to ADISQ website.