SOCAN members Avril Lavigne and Kardinal Offishall were honoured at the 2023 Canada’s Walk of Fame gala, on Dec. 2, 2023, at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre in downtown Toronto.

Global pop-punk superstar Lavigne was inducted into the Walk of Fame, which annually honours Canadians who demonstrate the true essence of the Canadian identity, and who’ve excelled in their respective fields. Multi-award-winning music icon, producer, A&R executive, and philanthropist Kardinal Offishall received the Allan Slaight Music Impact Award.

Earlier this year, the first-ever mega induction welcomed 13 rock legends of the ‘70s and ‘80s into Canada’s Walk of Fame. A video reel recapped highlights of the historic evening, and inductees Lorraine Segato of Parachute Club, and Sergio Galli, Mark Holmes, and Chris Steffler of Platinum Blonde were in attendance at the Gala.

Other inductees include Indigenous actress Tantoo Cardinal; NHL superstar Connor McDavid; Supreme Court Justice The Honourable Rosalie Silberman Abella;   philanthropist Gary Slaight; comedian Rick Mercer; neuropsychologist Dr. Brenda Milner; TV mainstay Degrassi; and clothing brand Roots Canada.

The Walk of Fame Gala also honoured future great achievers. Indigenous rights activist and clean water champion Autumn Peltier won the Community Hero Award, while climate advocate Catherine Abreu won the National Hero Award;

Television personalities Drew and Jonathan Scott (The Property Brothers) hosted the gala, and presenters and perfomers included Deborah Cox, Jason Priestley, Wayne Barrow, Brett Kissel, Chad Kroeger, Barry Avrich, Kids in the Hall, Jann Arden, Logan Staats, Layla Staats, Beverley Mahood, Clerel, Silken Laumann, Wendy Crewson, and Josh Alexander.