SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore Mychael and Jeff Danna, and Cristobal Tapia De Veer, have been nominated for 2018 Emmy Awards, as follows:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Alias Grace – Part 1 – Netflix – A Halfire Entertainment Production in association with CBC
    Music by Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna
    Published by AG Productions ULC (owned by Halfire Entertainment)
  • Crazy Diamond (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Prime Video – Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television
    Music by Cristobal Tapia De Veer
    Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada via Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music Inc. (ASCAP)

Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • The Last Tycoon – Prime Video – TriStar Television, Inc. and Amazon Studios
    Theme by Mychael Danna
    Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada via Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music Inc. (BMI)

SOCAN congratulates all three members, and their music publishers, on these great accomplishments!

SOCAN wishes to congratulate the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez on his appointment as Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism. Mr. Rodriguez’s record shows he’s committed to Canada’s cultural industries and providing our creators with the tools they need to prosper.

“We are delighted to see the arrival of Minister Rodriguez, a music lover and champion of creators, at the helm of the Department of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism. We will work with him to improve conditions for creators from coast to coast,” said SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste. Among the main issues facing the new Minister are the reform of the Copyright Board and the review of the Copyright Act.

Mr. Baptiste also wishes to thank the Honorable Mélanie Joly for her attentiveness and work with Canadian creators in recent years. SOCAN wishes her the best of luck in her new role.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members who’ve been short-listed for the 2018 Polaris Music Prize. All of the solo artists on the short list, announced July 17, 2018, are SOCAN members, and all of the listed bands include at least one singer-songwriter who’s a SOCAN member. Also, Partner’s “Play the Field” has already won the 2018 SOCAN Songwriting Prize.

The short list, by artist and album, is (in alphabetical order):

  • Alvvays – Antisocialites
  • Jean-Michel Blais – Dans ma main
  • Daniel Caesar – Freudian
  • Jeremy Dutcher – Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa
  • Pierre Kwenders – MAKANDA at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time
  • Hubert Lenoir – Darlène
  • Partner – In Search Of Lost Time
  • Snotty Nose Rez Kids – The Average Savage
  • U.S. Girls – In A Poem Unlimited
  • Weaves – Wide Open

For more information, visit the Polaris Music Prize website.