SOCAN wishes to congratulate the Honourable Pablo Rodriguez on his appointment as Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism. Mr. Rodriguez’s record shows he’s committed to Canada’s cultural industries and providing our creators with the tools they need to prosper.

“We are delighted to see the arrival of Minister Rodriguez, a music lover and champion of creators, at the helm of the Department of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism. We will work with him to improve conditions for creators from coast to coast,” said SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste. Among the main issues facing the new Minister are the reform of the Copyright Board and the review of the Copyright Act.

Mr. Baptiste also wishes to thank the Honorable Mélanie Joly for her attentiveness and work with Canadian creators in recent years. SOCAN wishes her the best of luck in her new role.

The late Leonard Cohen, one of the world’s most iconic singer-songwriters, poets, and novelists – whose classic songs include “Suzanne,” “Bird on a Wire” and “Hallelujah” – is among the 10 honourees who’ll be inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame on Dec. 1, 2018, at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, in Toronto.

At the same awards show – the 20th annual edition of the event – Cohen’s fellow SOCAN members Andy Kim and Col. Chris Hadfield will also be inducted into the Walk of Fame. Kim, to be recognized in the Arts and Entertainment category, is an award-winning singer-songwriter whose career has flourished for 50 years. He’s best known for hits including “Baby, I Love You,” “Sugar Sugar,” and “Rock Me Gently,” and has sold more than 30 million records. Hadfield, to be honoured in the Science and Technology field, is the first Canadian to walk in space, the first Canadian spaceship commander, a New York Times bestselling author, YouTube sensation, renowned speaker, and singer-songwriter.

The other seven Walk of Fame honourees for 2018 are:

  • Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir (Sports and Athletics)
  • Andrea Martin (Arts and Entertainment)
  • Dr. Joanne Liu (Philanthropy and Humanities)
  • Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg (Arts and Entertainment)
  • Jimmy Pattison (Business and Entrepreneurship)

The awards show will be followed by a gala celebration at the Fairmont Royal York, and the show will air on CTV in December 2018. SOCAN members previously inducted include Stompin’ Tom Connors, Michael Bublé, Rush, Sarah McLachlan, Blue Rodeo, The Tragically Hip, Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot, Nickelback, and k.d. lang.

SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore Mychael and Jeff Danna, and Cristobal Tapia De Veer, have been nominated for 2018 Emmy Awards, as follows:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Alias Grace – Part 1 – Netflix – A Halfire Entertainment Production in association with CBC
    Music by Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna
    Published by AG Productions ULC (owned by Halfire Entertainment)
  • Crazy Diamond (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Prime Video – Amazon Studios and Sony Pictures Television
    Music by Cristobal Tapia De Veer
    Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada via Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music Inc. (ASCAP)

Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • The Last Tycoon – Prime Video – TriStar Television, Inc. and Amazon Studios
    Theme by Mychael Danna
    Published by Sony ATV Music Publishing Canada via Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music Inc. (BMI)

SOCAN congratulates all three members, and their music publishers, on these great accomplishments!