SOCAN presented pop duo Darcys with a No. 1 Song Award on Apr. 24, 2019, for “Just Here with My Friends” (featuring Leah Fay) topping the CBC Music Top 20 on Aug. 23, 2018.

SOCAN’s Melissa Cameron-Passley and Aidan D’Aoust presented the honour to Darcys’ Jason Couse and Wes Marskell, who co-wrote and co-performed the song with Leah Fay of July Talk. The song is self-published by Darcys, and co-published with July Talk Music Inc.

SOCAN congratulates Darcys and Leah Fay on their achievement!

SOCAN honoured Daniel Caesar and several of his co-writers with SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards for “Get You,” “Best Part,” and “We Find Love,” each of which topped Billboard  U.S. or MuchMusic charts since 2016.

SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste – along with Senior Director, A&R, Rodney Murphy; A&R Representative Melissa Cameron-Passley; and Account Executive Peter Fera – presented the awards during a private dinner for the hit songwriters at La Banane restaurant in downtown Toronto, on the evening of April 25, 2019.

Attending were Daniel Caesar himself; his most frequent co-writers/producers Matthew Burnett and Jordan Evans; his co-writers Riley Bell, Wesley Allen, and Nevon Sinclair; and three out of the four BadBadNotGood band members who co-wrote “Get You” – Matthew Tavares, Leland Whitty, and Alexander Sowinski.

“Get You” (featuring Kali Uchis) is co-written by Caesar, Burnett, Evans, Allen, Ian Culley, and BadBadNotGood’s Chester Hansen, Tavares, Whitty, and Sowinski. The song, co-published by Third Side Music and Sony/ATV Music Publishing Canada, scaled the summit of the Billboard Adult R&B Chart on Feb. 3, 2018.

We also presented SOCAN R&B Music trophies for “Get You,” from our 2018 SOCAN Awards in Toronto, to Tavares, Whitty, and Sowinski, all of whom were unable to attend at that time.

“Best Part” (featuring H.E.R.), which topped the Billboard Adult R&B Chart on Oct. 20, 2018, is co-written by Caesar, Burnett, Evans, and Riley Bell, and co-published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing Canada.

“We Find Love,” is co-written by Caesar, Burnett, Evans, Allen, Jordon Manswell, and Nevon Sinclair, and co-published by EMI April Music Publishing Canada Ltd. and Sony/ATV Music Publishing Canada. It reached the peak of the MuchMusic Countdown on Nov. 10, 2018.

SOCAN congratulates all the co-writers, and co-publishers, on these great achievements!

More than 40 SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore have been nominated for nine musical honours in the 2019 edition of the LEO Awards, which celebrate excellence each year in British Columbia film and television. The awards, sponsored in part by SOCAN, will be presented May 26, 2019, at the Sheraton Wall Centre in Vancouver – the second of three award ceremonies evenings, with the first on May 25 at the Sheraton, and the gala final on June 1 at the Vancouver Hyatt Regency.

SOCAN congratulates all of the nominees:

Best Musical Score Motion Picture
Andrew Harris, Anthem of a Teenage Prophet|
Randy Raine-Reusch, Bella Ciao!
Kinnie Starr, Edge of the Knife (Sgaawaay K’uuna)
Schaun Tozer, Rabbit
Wayne Lavallee, Red Snow
Christopher Arruda, Woodland

Best Musical Score Television Movie
Hamish Thomson, Christmas Pen Pals
Matthew Rogers, Falling For You
Mark Lazeski, No One Would Tell
Peter Allen, Truly Madly Sweetly

Best Musical Score Short Drama
Scott Thompson, A Typical Fairytale
Bryant Olender, Exhibit Man
Dave Chick (BMI), Extra-Ordinary Amy
Michael Neilson, Giltrude’s Dwelling
Matthew Rogers, Girl on A Bus
Sean William (N/A), Small Fish

Best Musical Score Dramatic Series
Hamish Thomson, Chesapeake Shores – “Before A Following Sea”
Dan Mangan, Unspeakable – “Heat Treatment”
Rich Walters, Van Helsing – “Birth Ritual”

Best Musical Score Feature Length Documentary
Mark Lazeski, Ben Hulse, Design Canada
Daryl Bennett, I Am MLK Jr.
Michael Richard Plowman, Letter from Masanjia
Kenton Gilchrist, Safety to Nome
Grant Baldwin, This Mountain Life

Best Musical Score Short Documentary
Andrew Harris, After the Sirens
David F. Ramos, Purple Horse
Jordan Soles, Speedway!
Daryl Bennett, The Bailey Experience

Best Musical Score Documentary Series
Greg Fisher, Derek Treffry, Border Security: America’s Front Line – “Episode 207”
Christopher Nickel, Highway Thru Hell – “Above And Beyond”
Christopher Nickel, Wild Bear Rescue – “Wild, Wild Grizzly”

Best Musical Score Animation Program or Series
Matt Davis, 16 Hudson – “Monkey King”
David Parfit, Marc Junker, Esluna: The First Monolith
Mehdi Farshidfar, Second Home – “Journey”

Best Music Video
“Chains” by Dear Rouge – Martin Glegg, Kristoff Duxbury – Producers
“Glass” by Jo Passed – John Mutter – Producer
“Going Late” by Humans – Peter Ricq, Devin Karringten – Producers
“I Can’t Be You” by Chersea – Paul Bourque – Producer
“Murphy’s Law” by Chersea – Paul Bourque – Producer
“UnAmerican” by Said The Whale – Johnny Jansen – Producer

For more information and a complete list of winners visit the awards website.