SOCAN members Steven Lee Olsen, Deric Ruttan, and Kelly Archer were among the list of winners at the 2017 editions of the ASCAP Country Music Awards and BMI Country Awards, with ASCAP’s gala held on Nov. 6, 2017, at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium, and BMI’s ceremonies the next day at BMI’s Nashville offices on Music Row.

At the ASCAP Country Music Awards, Steven Lee Olsen was awarded for co-writing “Blue Ain’t Your Color,” a hit for Keith Urban, co-written with Hillary Lindsey and Clint Lagerberg, and co-published by Cornman Music, Sea Gayle Music, Warner/Chappell Music Publishing, BMG Gold Songs, Spirit Music Nashville, and Rezonate Music. Similarly, Deric Ruttan was honoured for single-handedly writing the Jason Aldean hit song “Any Ol’ Barstool,” co-published by This Music, Warner/Chappell Music Publishing, and Doc and Maggie Music, as well as co-writing Blake Shelton’s huge smash hit “Came Here to Forget,” with Craig Wiseman, co-published by This Music, Big Loud Songs, Round Hill Songs, Warner/Chappell Music Publishing, Red Toe Rocker, and Doc and Maggie Music.

At the BMI Country Awards, Kelly Archer was awarded for co-writing the Brett Young hit song “Sleep Without You,” co-written with Young and Justin Ebach, and co-published by Downtown DMP Songs, Stars and Stripes and Maple Leaf Music, Red Creative Group, Big Machine Music, and Word Country

For more information, and a complete list of winners, visit the ASCAP website and the BMI website.


SOCAN presented a No. 1 Song Award to Theory of a Deadman, on Nov. 15, 2017, in Vancouver, for their song “Rx (Medicate)” – which spent six weeks (and counting) on top of the Mediabase US Active Rock chart (based on radio airplay), starting on Oct. 8, 2017. The song has also achieved more than 13 million streams, and as of Nov. 16, 2017, remains in the Top Five on both the Canadian Rock and Modern Rock charts.

SOCAN surprised the band by presenting the award at the release party for their new album Wake Up Call, at the studio of 604 Records, the band’s Canadian record label.

SOCAN West Coast Division Account Executive (Radio) Coralie Hummel, and Team Lead, Member Accounts, Sara Pavilionis presented the award to Theory of a Deadman just after they played an acoustic set and held a question-and-answer session via a live stream for their fans.

“Rx (Medicate)” is co-written by all four band members – Dean Back/Blinky Publishing, David Brenner/April Fool Publishing Inc., Tyler Connolly/Team Toque Publishing Inc., and Joe Dandeneau – and co-published by Canadiana Music.

SOCAN congratulates the writers, publishers, 604 Records, and the entire Theory of a Deadman team on their achievement!

Yamaha Canada Music donated an entire band’s worth of musical instruments to the Harmony Lounge in the SOCAN Toronto office on Nov. 2, 2017, to support our series of “SOCAN Sessions” with members, as well as the musicians among our staff.

Omar Ales, of Yamaha Canada Music, presented us with about $16,000 worth of gear, including

  • a Montage 8 Music Synthesizer;
  • a BBP34 Vintage Sunburst Electric Bass;
  • an LL16ARE Folk Guitar;
  • an LL16MARE Folk Guitar;
  • an RS820CR Rusty Rat Electric Guitar;
  • a THR100HD Guitar Amp;
  • a THRC212 Guitar Amp;
  • a THR10 Guitar Amp;
  • an Electric Drum Set, including
    • a DTX900M Drum Trigger Module;
    • a DTP903 Pad Set; and
    • a DTP904 Pad Set,

as well as

  • an RS700 Electronic Drum Rack;
  • an L7S Keyboard Stand;
  • an FP9500B Drum Pedal; and
  • a DS840 Drum Stool.
Yamaha, SOCAN

SOCAN staff test the new Yamaha gear

This will make it much easier for SOCAN members like Amelia Curran, Andy Kim, Damhnait Doyle, and Dean Brody to play “SOCAN Sessions” for our staff with their bands – because the backing musicians won’t have to bring along all of their gear, and load it in and out.

It’ll also make it easier for the many musicians among our Toronto staff to indulge their passion for singing, songwriting and performing – right at the office – whenever they’d like to do so, on their lunch hours, breaks, and after work. The handful of employees who were the first to test the gear really enjoyed it.

“It’s a win for everybody, all around,” said SOCAN Chief Membership & Business Development Officer Michael McCarty. “We thank Yamaha Canada Music for their generous donation, which – like SOCAN itself – fosters music creation. What a great gift!”