Ten SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore were honoured in musical categories of the 2022 Canadian Screen Awards, presented live and in-person this year, from April 4-8, as health measures to combat the spread of COVID-19 have abated. SOCAN congratulates all our winners on these great achievements!

The winners are:


Best Original Music, Fiction
Robert Carli, Peter Chapman – Wynonna Earp – “Better Dig Two” episode
Published by Wynonna Earp Productions Inc.

Best Original Music, Animation
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Chris Tait, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna! – “The Way of the Gaucho” episode
Published by 9 Story Media Group Inc administered by Anthem Entertainment

Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Erica Procunier – The COVID Cruise
Published by Brights Grove Music Publishing


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Jonathan Goldsmith – All My Puny Sorrows

Achievement in Music – Original Song
TiKA Simone, Casey Manierka-Quaile – “And Then We Don’t” from Learn to Swim

For a list of all the SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore nominees, click here. For complete lists of all of the Canadian Screen Awards nominees and winners, click here.

SOCAN celebrated our nominees and winners with a cocktail reception at the Melody Bar of the Gladstone Hotel in downtown Toronto, in the early evening of April 8, 2022.

Attending SOCAN-member nominees, winners, and other screen composers included Amin Bhatia, Asher Lenz, Darren Fung, Erica Procunier, Iva Delic, Meiro Stamm, Michelle Osis, Stephen Krecklo, Suad Bushnaq, Neil Parfitt, Robert Carli, and Tom Third. Also attending were music supervisor Michael Perlmutter and Tonya Dedrick of the Screen Composers Guild of Canada (SCGC).

SOCAN attendees included SOCAN Director, Creative, Cameron Kennedy; Director, Creative Operations & Programming, Kathryn Hamilton;  Creative Executive, Film/TV & Visual Media, Gagan Singh; Creative Programming & Partnerships Co-Ordinator Maria Escamilla; and Video Editor Brad Ardley.