SOCAN members who’d like to participate in the 2022 edition of the M for Montréal Festival can send in their applications from now until June 6, 2022. The 2022 festival will be held Nov. 16–19.

Following the 16th edition, which was presented as a hybrid of in-person and digital events, the next one will also be a hybrid – but in a brand new format. During this call for applications, M for Montréal is looking for artists primarily interested in developing their careers on a national and international level. Having a support team, a commercial album, a few live shows, and followers on various social media platforms are assets for being selected, but not mandatory.

M for Montréal is a conference and festival that presents more than 100 local and international artists, both up-and-coming and established, in more than 15 venues across Montréal. Top industry professionals mingle with fans and artists at one of the city’s most effervescent events of the autumn.

For details on submitting an application, visit

The Société pour l’avancement de la chanson d’expression française (SACEF) has launched the 28 th edition of its Ma première Place des Arts competition. Starting Wednesday, March 2, 2022, Montréal’s Salle Claude-Léveillée will host 24 participants – six performers and 18 singer-songwriters – over the course of eight shows presented under the musical direction of Guillaume Rochon.

This year’s contestants are Émilie Bédard, Fred Labrie, Sophia de Moor, Andréanne Sabourin-Côté, Julien Gagné, Alex Doré, Christopher Therrien, Julien Leeb, Maude Carrier, David Jankowski, Christine Beaulieu, Oli Féra, David Beauchemin, PETiTOM, Julie Houde, Barrique D’Encre, Antoine Perreault, Queen Drey, Solane, Alphonse Bisaillon, Jeremy Lachance, Patrick Bourdon, Philippe Plourde, and Emmanuelle Querry.

The mentors for this edition are SOCAN members Brigitte Saint-Aubin and Paule-Andrée Cassidy for the quarter-finals, as well as Manuel Gasse, Florence K, Chloé Lacasse, Guylaine Tanguay Catherine Durand, and Alexandre Poulin, for the contestants who make it to the final round. The juries for the quarter-finals are Josianne Paradis, Tristan Malavoy, and Félix Dyotte. For the fifth straight year, Olivier Robillard Laveaux will host all eight shows.

Ma première Place des Arts is a contest that allows the participants to get personalized mentorship, and to perform during a televised event held in the Salle Claude-Léveillée of Place des Arts. They also receive comments on their work, benefit from promotional visibility, and participate in workshops alongside industry professionals. There are networking opportunities with established artists and other players, all while accessing a possible opportunity to win several grants and other prizes designed to help them launch their careers.
Visit Ma première Place des Arts’ website for more information about the contest, or to learn more about SACEF.

Once again this year, SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore have fared very well in nominations at the Canadian Screen Awards, in the musical categories. Twenty-eight of our members have earned nominations in various categories, and all nominees in the Best Original Music, Non-Fiction category are female composers. Rose Bolton, Robert Carli, Stephen Krecklo, and Peter Chapman are each nominated twice.

Presented by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, the Canadian Screen Awards were born of the fusion of two awards ceremonies – the Genie Awards for movies and Gemini Awards for television. The 2022 awards will be presented over six days during Canadian Screen Week, April 4-10, 2022.

The SOCAN nominees are as follows:


Achievement in Music – Original Score

  • Jonathan Goldsmith – All My Puny Sorrows
  • Stephen Krecklo – Between Waves
  • Darren Fung – Cinema of Sleep
  • Suad Bushnaq – Jasmine Road
  • Spencer Creaghan — Motherly

 Achievement in Music – Original Song

  • Jean Martin, Tanya Tagaq – “Surface Nord,” from Bootlegger
  • David Braid – “Ring Them Fantasy,” from Delia’s Gone
    Published by Lumanity Productions Inc. / K52 Music
  • Nicolas Errèra, Craig Walker – “Drop the Rock,” from Au revoir le Bonheur/Goodbye Happiness
  • Tika Simone, Casey Manierka-Quaile – “And Then We Don’t,” from Learn to Swim
  • Simon Angell, Erika Angell (STIM) – “Lovers Are Falling,” from Woman in  Car


 Best Original Music, Fiction

  • Tom Third – Coroner – “Spirits” episode
    Published by 6800 Music, administered by MRD – Music Revenue Data
  • Todor Kobakov, Iva Delic, Tika Cato – Faith Heist
    Published by Kobakov Music Publishing, administered by MRD – Music Revenue Data
  • Robert Carli – Frankie Drake Mysteries – “Showstoppers” episode
    Published by Shaftesbury Music, administered by Sony
  • Robert Carli, Peter Chapman – Wynonna Earp – “Better Dig Two” episode
    Published by Wynonna Earp Productions Inc.
  • Gary Koftinoff, Phil Bennett – Hudson & Rex – “Under Pressure” episode
    Published by Shaftesbury Music, administered by Sony

Best Original Music, Non-Fiction

  • Amanda Cawley – Ageless Gardens – “Sacred Spaces” episode
    Published by 291 Film Company Ltd.
  • Rose Bolton – Born Bad
  • Rose Bolton – Coral Ghosts
    Published by Take Action Films Inc.
  • Erica Procunier– The COVID Cruise
    Published by Brights Grove Music Publishing
  • Michelle Osis – The Nature of Things – “Inside the Great Vaccine Race” episode
    Published by Passion Core Publishing Inc. / Infield Fly Production Inc.

Best Original Music, Animation

  • Peter Chapman – Happy House of Frightenstein – “Wolfie’s Last Howl” episode
  • Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna! – “The Way of the Gaucho” episode
    Published by 9 Story Media Group Inc., administered by Anthem Entertainment
  • Asher Lenz, Stephen Skratt – Pikwik Pack – “Suki’s Hero” episode
    Published by Guru Animation Studios, administered by Anthem Entertainment
  • Neil Parfitt – Ranger Rob – “Fossil Finders Keepers in Big Sky Park” episode
    Published by Future Cinesymphonies, administered by Anthem Entertainment
  • Meiro Stamm – Xavier Riddle and the Secret Museum – “I Am Ella Fitzgerald” episode
    Published by 9 Story Media Group Inc., administered by Anthem Entertainment

For further information and a complete list of nominees, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website. Congratulations to all our nominees on this great achievement!