Three SOCAN members, and two former members of the SOCAN Board of Directors,  were among the appointments to the Order of Canada on July 1, 2022, for their achievements as Canadian songwriters, musicians, or music industry representatives.

Appointed as members of the Order of Canada were:

Al Mair, for his visionary and enduring contributions to the Canadian music industry. Mair, a former member of SOCAN’s Board of Directors, helped to grow the Canadian music scene in its infancy, managing Gordon Lightfoot for eight years, leading the Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA), and founding and running the independent label Attic Records – which, in the 1980s, was the home of Lee Aaron, Triumph, Maestro Fresh Wes, The Nylons, and Haywire.

Ben Mink, for his sustained contributions to Canadian music as a producer, multi-instrumentalist and writer. Mink, for many years kd lang’s co-writer and band member in the ‘80s, was also a member of SOCAN’s Board of Directors. He has collaborated with FM, Rush, and Barenaked Ladies, and his production credits include Heart, Anne Murray, Jane Siberry, Ian and Sylvia Tyson, Bruce Cockburn, Murray McLauchlan, Alison Krauss, Feist, Daniel Lanois, Sarah McLachlan, Roy Orbison, and Elton John.

Jim Byrnes, For his ongoing contributions to the arts, notably as a musician an actor, and for his active charitable work. He’s released 10 critically acclaimed albums over his long career, and usually plays about 150 live dates a year. His acting highlights include television’s Wiseguy and Highlander series, and his national variety program The Jim Byrnes Show, and he’s appeared in TV series on Netflix and ABC. The charities he supports include the Face the World Foundation, and Odd Squad Productions, both of which help those in  need in his adopted hometown of Vancouver.

Fred Pellerin, for his contributions to the revival of the art of storytelling in Canada and throughout the Francophonie. Pellerin is a three-time JUNO Award nominee; has won a Prix Félix (ADISQ Award) for Best Folk Album (as a duo act with his brother Nicolas); recorded “L’Hymne,” the theme song for the film Snowtime!, in a duet with Céline Dion; and has adapted or co-written the screenplays for three major movies.

All of the above will be inducted into the Order of Canada during a ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa, to be  scheduled at a later date.

SOCAN congratulates all of these appointees on this great achievement!