It’s been a good 2021 for Dean Brody. At press time, the renowned country singer-songwriter had just earned his 18th Canadian Country  Music Association Award. His “Boys” duet with country music’s fastest-rising star Mickey Guyton, reached No. 1 this year, and was certified gold. His song with The Reklaws, “Can’t Help Myself,” went platinum in less than a year. He’s made music for more than 12 years now, earning more than 30 Top 10 singles, and more than 235 million cumulative global streams.

In a conversation with SOCAN, he tells us why he doesn’t trust songs he writes too quickly, how it feels to play live again, writing “I’d Go to Jail,” singing “Boys” with Guyton, and writing solo versus co-writing.

SOCAN member Allison Russell has earned three nominations for the 64th annual Grammy Awards, to be held Monday, Jan. 31, 2022, and broadcast live on CBS. Russell’s song “Nightflyer” was nominated for both Best American Roots Music Performance and Best American Roots Music Song, while Outside Child was recognized  in the Best Americana Album category.

Drake earned two nominations, which he later withdrew: Best Rap Album for Certified Lover Boy and Best Rap Performance for “Way Too Sexy” (featuring Future and Young Thug). Alex Cuba’s Mendo earned a nomination for Best Latin Pop Album, while Joni Mitchell was honoured in the Best Historical Album field for Archives Vol. 1: The Early Years (1963-1967). And Caribou was nominated for Best Dance/Electronic Recording, for “You Can Do It.”

Daniel Caesar was featured (along with Giveon) on Justin Bieber’s single “Peaches,” which garnered four nominations: Best R&B Performance, Best  Music Video, Record of the Year, and Song of the Year. The Weeknd was featured (along with Lil Baby) on Kanye West’s “Hurricane,” which got a nod for Best Melodic Rap Performance.

Conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin was nominated for Best Orchestral Performance, for Florence Price, Symphonies No. 1 in C Minor & No. 3 in E Minor, recorded with the Philadelphia Orchestra. He was also nominated in the category of Best Opera Recording, for Dialogues des Carmélites by Francis Poulenc.  In addition, the interpretation of Winterreise by Joyce DiDonato, with Nézet-Séguin as her accompanying pianist, is in the running for Best Classical Solo Vocal Album.

Rupert “Sevn” Thomas is one of the co-writers of Giveon’s “Heartbreak Anniversary,” which is nominated for Best R&B Song. Nathalie Bonin contributed to three songs on the album Women Warriors: The Voices of Change, nominated for Best Classical Compendium. SOCAN member and music archivist Kevin Howes earned a Best Album Notes nomination for his contributions to Creation Never Sleeps, Creation Never Dies: The Willie Dunn Anthology.

While not directly nominated, SOCAN member producers Joseph L’Etranger, Murda Beatz, and Yonatan Watts found their work with Ariana Grande nominated twice, for Best Pop solo Performance (for the song “Positions”) and Best Pop Vocal Album (for Positions). Similarly, professional songwriter Jenna Andrews co-wrote the BTS hit song “Butter,” which was nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance. Producers T-Minus and Carl Williams contributed to “Pride is the Devil,” by J Cole (Featuring Lil Baby), which earned a nod for Best Melodic Rap Performance, while Kaytranada (who won two 2021 Grammy Awards) contributed to H.E.R.’s Back of My Mind, nominated for Best R&B Album and Album of the Year. SOCAN member producer Alexander “AC” Castillo worked on Mis Manos by Camilo, nominated for Best Latin Pop Album.

Kanye West was nominated in the Best Rap Album field, for Donda, which includes  songwriting and/or production contributions from SOCAN members The Weeknd, DRTWRK, Bo1-da, and Sean Leon. In the same category, Drake’s nominated (then withdrawn) Certified Lover Boy includes contributions from 20 fellow SOCAN members: Noah “40” Shebib, Nineteen85, Alex Lustig, GOVI, Monsune, Charlotte Day Wilson, Anthoine Walters, PartyNextDoor, OZ, Nik D, Noel Cadastre, Maneesh, WondaGurl, Jarrel The Young, Eli Brown, Kenza Samir, Preme, O. Ojelade, Steez, and P. Ring. Doja Cat was nominated for Album of the Year, for the deluxe edition of Planet Her, to which The Weeknd contributed.

Ron Korb played flute and served as associate producer on Divine Tides by former The Police drummer Stewart Copeland and Ricky Kej, which was nominated for Best New Age Album. Ryan Ofei appears as a guest singer on a live recording by U.S. gospel collective Maverick City Music, Jubilee: Juneteenth Edition, which was nominated for Best Gospel Album.

Please note that SOCAN is currently reviewing the entire, extensive list of 2022 Grammy nominations to determine any other member nominees, and may update this article accordingly.

SOCAN congratulates our Grammy-nominated members on this huge achievement!

SOCAN Vice President,  Member and Industry Relations, Vanessa Thomas, presented SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards to the co-writers of three chart-topping country songs, during the 2021 Canadian Country  Music Association Awards week: Jess Moskaluke’s “Country Girls,” Tyler Joe Miller’s “I Would Be Over Me Too,” and Lindsay Ell’s “wAnt me back” (sic).

Thomas presented the No. 1 Award for “Country Girls” to Moskaluke in London, Ontario, during the CCMA Awards weekend, Nov. 26-29, 2021. The song was co-written by Moskaluke, Emily Shackleton, and Corey Crowder, and reached the top of the Billboard Canada Country Chart on March 14, 2020.

At the same time, Thomas presented the No. 1 Award for “I Would Be Over Me Too” to Tyler Joe Miller and co-writer Mitch Merrett. The song was co-written by Miller, Merrett, and Kelly Archer, and published by Downtown Music Canada. It scaled the peak of the Billboard Canada Country Chart on Oct. 31, 2020.

In Toronto, Thomas surprised Lindsay Ell with a SOCAN No. 1 Song Award for “wAnt me back” (sic) while she was onstage for a pre-CCMAs show at Toronto’s Axis Club on Nov. 25, 2021. The song was co-written by Ell, Kane Brown, Matt McGinn, and Lindsay Rimes, published by BMG Rights Management, and topped the Billboard Canada Country Chart on Dec. 12, 2020.

SOCAN congratulates all of the songwriters and publishers of these chart-topping songs!