The Pros video series introduces you to leaders in their field of music who share some of the useful experience they’ve acquired throughout their careers.

Since his sophomore album, PICTURA DE IPSE: musique directe, came out in September of 2021, Hubert Lenoir hasn’t stopped earning rave reviews and multiple awards. Making the short list of the 2022 Polaris Prize, receiving 11 nominations in the upcoming ADISQ gala, and playing an extensive touring schedule in Québec, Canada, and Europe last summer, have made the young artist a major beacon on the Québec music scene. And that’s not to mention his live shows, which never fail to impress, thanks to his unbelievable energy and bold music.

In this video, Lenoir shares his advice on giving the best possible show. According to him, the technical aspects are nice to have, but the main ingredient is having the right attitude, and being willing to give it your all.

SOCAN member The Weeknd filled the Rogers Centre in Toronto on Thursday, Sept. 22, 2022 (and the next night as well). Check out our photos from the event below!

Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance, David Foster, Alanis Morissette, and Daniel Lavoie were inducted into Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF), on Sept. 24, 2022, at Massey Hall in Toronto.

In his acceptance speech, David Foster said, “Quincy Jones used to say, the three ingredients to make a hit record are: the song, the song, and the song. So to come home and be recognized for songwriting, it’s the highest praise a musician can hope for… Especially for this occasion, most importantly, a big Thank You to the greatest publishers a songwriter could ever ask for: Ralph Peer, Kathy Spanberger, and the entire peermusic team.”

Jim Vallance thanked SOCAN and said, “I was on the SOCAN board for decades, and let me tell you, these people care deeply about Canadian songwriters and Canadian music. So thank you.”

Alanis Morissette said, “When I write it, it’s for me, but then when I share it, it’s yours… What we are as writers, and songwriters specifically, is, we mark things. We mark a feeling that’s intangible, and really hard to describe… I know I am privileged, I am so privileged, to  be able to do what I do, and that there were so many incredible opportunities to my left and right as I moved along, and I’m really grateful for that… I think when someone supports the songwriter, they’re supporting the person.”

Daniel Lavoie, who spoke in both English and French, said, “Most of us [songwriters] know how to write a good song… None of us, maybe David Foster excepted, knows how to write a great song. The great songs are decided by you, the public… I have been very privileged to have been chosen by you a few times, and it has changed my life… I am very grateful, and I thank you.”

The inductees were honoured with live performances their hit songs, video tributes, and a presentation speech by someone close to them. Grammy Award winner and Billboard magazine Woman of the Year Olivia Rodrigo introduced Alanis Morissette, saying “I was 13 when I first heard Jagged Little Pill, and my life was completely changed. Alanis’ songwriting was unklike anything I had ever heard before, and I haven’t heard anything quite like it since… I became hooked for life.”

Musical highlights among the many live performances included an explosive version of Alanis Morisette and Glen Ballard’s “You Oughta Know” by Serena Ryder; Charlotte Cardin;’s passionate reading of the Bryan Adams-Jim Vallance co-write, “Heaven”; Deborah Cox’s incredible vocal performance of David Foster’s “I Have Nothing”; and a soulful cover of Daniel Lavoie’s “Je voudrais voir New York” by Clerel.

Other artists who appeared at the Gala included Jessie Reyez, Pierre Lapointe, Corey Hart, Chad Kroeger and Ryan Peake of Nickelback, Lawrence Gowan, Jim Corcoran, JP Saxe, Bruno Pelletier, Chicago’s Neil Donell, Bobby Bazini, Maurice Moore, Tafari, Divine Brown, James Baley, and Ruby Waters.

Previous songwriters who’ve been inducted into the CSHF include Leonard Cohen, Édith Butler, Neil Young, Claude Dubois, Bruce Cockburn, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Robbie Robertson, Gordon Lightfoot, and Joni Mitchell.