On April 14, 2022, Québec Cinéma announced the list of nominees for its Iris Awards Gala, and 15 SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore are finalists in the Best Original Score and Best Original Score – Documentary categories.

The 2022 nominees in the Best Original Score category are:

  • Philippe Brault, for Maria Chapdelaine – Publishers: My T Fine Music, Item 7 Inc.
  • Philippe Brault, for Les oiseaux ivres – Publishers: Ho Tune Musique, Meloscope
  • Jean Martin and Tanya Tagaq, for Bootlegger
  • Éloi Painchaud and Fred Pellerin, for L’arracheuse de temps
  • Roger Tellier-Craig, for La contemplation du mystère

In the Best Original Score – Documentary category, the nominees are:

  • Samuel Laflamme and Dominique Fils-Aimée, for Seuls
  • Stéphane Lafleur and Christophe Lamarche-Ledoux, for Archipel
  • Robert Marcel Lepage, for Antisémitismes
  • Robert Marcel Lepage, for La coop de ma mère
  • Projet E.V.E., Michel Robidoux, and Bill Gagnon, for Les fils

Ivan Grbovic’s Les oiseaux ivres and Sébastien Pilote’s Maria Chapdelaine lead the number of nominations with 16 each. Other multiple nominees include Souterrain, directed by Sophie Dupuis, and Le Club Vinland, directed by Benoit Pilon, which are nominated 13 times. Beans, by Tracey Deer, Bootlegger, by Caroline Monnet, and Sin La Habana, by Kaveh Nabatian, have been nominated in 11, eight, and seven categories, respectively.

The 24th edition of the Gala Québec Cinéma will be broadcast live from Radio-Canada Studio 42 on Sunday, June 5, 2022, at 8:00 p.m. ET on ICI TÉLÉ. The Artisans Gala (during which the musical prizes will be awarded) will also return for a 7th edition in June (date and place to be confirmed), and will be hosted by the actor, filmmaker and screenwriter Guillaume Lambert.

For the full list of nominees of the 2022 Gala Québec Cinéma, visit the official website. Good luck to the nominees!