Eight SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore were honoured in musical categories of the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards.

The winners are:


Achievement in Music – Original Score
Aleka Swanson (a.k.a. Alaska B) – Through Black Spruce
Published by Serendipity Point Films Inc.

Achievement in Music – Original Song
Dan General (a.k.a. DJ Shub), Thomas Lambe (N/A), Adam Tanuyak (N/A) – “Trials” from The Grizzlies


Best Original Music, Fiction
Todor Kobakov, for Cardinal – “Blackfly Season”
Published by eOne Entertainment, administered by ole

Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Darren Fung, for Equus: Story of the Horse – “Origins”
Published by Third Side Music Inc.

Best Original Music, Animation
James Chapple, Graham Cornies, David Kelly, Brian Pickett, for PAW Patrol – “Ultimate Rescue: Pups Save the Royal Kitties”
Published by Spin Master Ltd., administered by CCS Rights Management

For a list of all the SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore nominees, click here. For a complete list of all of the nominees and winners, click here.

SOCAN congratulates all our winners on these great achievements!