Nelson Minville, Geneviève Côté, Eric Baptiste

Nelson Minville (centre), recipient of the Prix Stéphane-Venne, flanked by SOCAN’s Geneviève Côté (left) and Eric Baptiste (right).

Four the thirteenth consecutive year, the Fondation SPACQ (Société professionnelle des auteurs et des compositeurs du Québec) presented awards to songwriters, composers, and performers at its annual gala, held Sept. 10, 2018, at the National Bank Headquarters in Montreal. Ten $10,000 grants and eight $5,000 grants were distributed to 18 recipients. The ceremony was hosted for the tenth year in a row by Louise Forestier, and attended by a large SOCAN delegation, including CEO Eric Baptiste, Geneviève Côté, Board President Marc Ouellette, Martin Lavallée, Joël Martin and Alain Lauzon. SOCAN also presented the new Stéphane Venne Lifetime Achievement Award for a non-performing songwriter to Nelson Minville.

“Thirteen years already!” said Diane Juster, President of the Fondation SPACQ. “Year after year, it’s always with renewed pleasure that Fondaton SPACQ celebrates the achievements of songwriters and composers by bringing together creators, businesspeople, major broadcasters, and other stakeholders in our cultural and musical environment. The deep changes that the music industry is undergoing, on an ongoing basis, have a major impact on the lives of our songwriters and composers. It is therefore vital that we continue to defend their interests, and put a stop to the erosion of their rights. The ongoing engagement of our partners makes it possible for the Fondation SPACQ to promote and acknowledge the immense talents of our creators.”

Here is a complete list of the 2018 award winners:

ANDRÉ “DÉDÉ” FORTIN AWARD – Presented by Stingray Musique
Emerging Artist

ANDRÉ GAGNON AWARD – Presented by Québecor
Instrumental Music

DIANE JUSTER AWARD – Presented by Fondation SPACQ
Outstanding Commitment to Singer-Songwriters

EDDY MARNAY AWARD – Presented by Productions Feeling
Emerging Artist

ÉDITH BUTLER AWARD – Presented by Bell Média
Canadian Francophonie

ÉVAL MANIGAT AWARD – Presented by Fondation Evenko
Emerging Artist

Song Music

GILLES VIGNEAULT AWARD – Presented by National Bank
Ongoing Career

LUC PLAMONDON AWARD – Presented by ICI Musique

LUCILLE DUMONT AWARD – Presented by Industrielle Alliance
Lifetime Achievement Award – Performer

RICHARD GRÉGOIRE AWARD – Presented by Hydro-Québec
AV Music

SYLVAIN LELIÈVRE AWARD – Presented by Fiera Capital
Lifetime Achievement Award – Songwriter

ROBERT CHARLEBOIS AWARD – Presented by Power Corporation du Canada
International Outreach

Lifetime Achievement Award – Songwriter

For more information, visit the Fondation SPACQ website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loud, Hubert Lenoir, King Melrose, Patrick Norman and Jean-Olivier Bégin are all scheduled to receive at least one SOCAN Award at our upcoming SOCAN Montréal Awards Gala. As they were visiting our offices, we asked them to explain what “La Complainte du phoque en Alaska,” this year’s winner of the SOCAN Cultural Impact Award, means to them personally.

At the upcoming 2018 SOCAN Montréal Awards Gala, to be presented at Montréal’s TOHU theatre, “La Complainte du phoque en Alaska” – Michel Rivard’s hit song, first recorded by Beau Dommage – will receive the award, celebrating a song that has had a lasting impact, both at home and abroad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Host Shania Twain was the big winner at the 2018 Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMAs) in Hamilton, where she took home four honours: Top Selling Album of the Year, Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year, the CCMA Generation Award, and the Fans’ Choice Award.

Keith Urban, Teri Clark

Keith Urban & Terri Clark

Terri Clark was inducted into the Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame on Saturday, Sept. 8, at the CCMA Gala Dinner & Awards presented by SOCAN, at the Hamilton Convention Centre. The same night, Brett Kissel took home the CCMA Award for Interactive Artist of the Year for the fifth consecutive year, while The Washboard Union celebrated their third win in the Roots Artist or Group of the Year category. Four-time 2018 CCMA Award nominees James Barker Band took home their first CCMA Awards win for Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year. “Chills.” The Songwriter(s) of the Year were Aaron Goodvin, Skip Black, and Catt Gravitt for “Lonely Drum,” performed by Goodvin, while ole was the Music Publishing Company of the Year.

At the nationally televised CCMA Awards show, held the next night at the FirstOntario Centre, the night opened with a Shania Twain tribute performed by Album of the Year winner Jess Moskaluke, Kira Isabella, and Madeline Merlo, while later on, international superstar Keith Urban performed his hit song “Never Coming Down.” Other highlights included a collaborative performance from Brett Kissel and Serena Ryder, and a tribute to 2018 Hall of Fame inductee Terri Clark by Suzy Boggus, Jessica Mitchell, Meghan Patrick (Female Artist of the Year), joined by Clark herself.


Eric Baptiste, Jess Moskaluke, Rodney Murphy

Left to right: SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, Jess Moskaluke, SOCAN’s Rodney Murphy

Throughout Canadian Country Music Week (CCMW) conference and festival leading up to the awards shows, SOCAN presented No. 1 Song Awards to Jess Moskaluke and Donovan Woods. Moskaluke was honoured for Drive Me Away” – co-written with Zach Abend (BMI) and Corey Crowder (ASCAP – which reached the peak of the CMT Countdown Chart on May 13, 2017.

Woods was honoured for three No. 1 songs:

  • “Chills” – co-written with James Barker, Gavin Slate, and Travis Wood, co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada and ole, and performed by James Barker Band – peaked on the CMT Countdown Chart on May 27, 2017, and on the Nielsen BDS Country Chart on June 19, 2017.
  • “Burn That Bridge” – co-written with Dylan Guthro, Breagh MacKinnon, and Carleton Stone, co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada and Port Cities Music, and performed by Woods – reached the top of the CBC Music Top 20 Chart on Feb. 22, 2018.
  • “Separate Rooms” – co-written with Megan Bonnell, Chris Stringer, ad Joshua Van Tassel, co-published by Warner Chappell Music Canada and Meant Well Music, and performed by Bonnell – attained the No. 1 spot on the CBC Music Top 20 Chart on May 24, 2018.


Eric Baptiste, Donovan Woods, Vivian Barclay, Marc Ouellette

Left to right: SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, Donovan Woods, Vivian Barclay of Warner Chappell Music Canada, and SOCAN Board President Marc Ouellette.

SOCAN congratulates all of its members who won Canadian Country Music Awards and SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards this year!

See the Facebook Photo Album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *