Robyn Ottolini took home Single of the Year (for “Say It”) and Female Artist of the Year, while The Reklaws scored Group or Duo of the Year and The Compass Award, at the 2023 Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) Awards, held June 4 at Theatre Aquarius in Hamilton.

The SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter(s) of the Year honour went to Steven Lee Olsen and Brandon Day, for “Nashville or Nothing,” recorded by Olsen.

The 11th edition of the gala included performances from Ottolini, Jade Eagleson, Nate Haller, Sacha, Jason Blaine, Julian Taylor, and The Western Swing Authority, among many others. Eagleson, who now boasts 270 million cumulative global streams, received a Gold record from CMAO president Steve Kassay for his latest chart-topper,  “Shakin’ In Them Boots.”

The Family Brown were honoured with a medley of their hits, and the show closed with a tribute to the recently deceased Gordon Lightfoot.

Complete List of Winners

Snotty Nose Rez Kids earned three honours at the the 2022 edition of the Western Canadian Music Awards (WCMAs) on Sept. 23, 2022: the duo won Rap & Hip Hop Artist, Indigenous Artist, and Recording of the Year (the latter for their Life After album).

Sam Lynch won the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year Award (for his Keeping Time album), and Dorothy Chang received the Classical Composer of the Year Award (for her Soaring Spirits album).

The Garrys were chosen BreakOut Artist of the Year, Nuela Charles was the Pop Artist of thre Year, Sargeant X Comrade was the R&B Artist of the Year, and Sweet Alibi were the Roots Artist of the Year.

For a compete list of artistic award winners, click here. SOCAN congratulates all of our member nominees and winners at the 2022 WCMAs!

SOCAN members Jully Black, Bruce Cockburn, and the late Salome Bey received their stars on Canada’s Walk of Fame, on Friday, May 26, 2023, after being inducted in 2020 and 2021.

“I’m so grateful for this opportunity to speak, to express, and to represent every little Black boy and girl who looked out and didn’t see someone who looked like them on television, or hear them on the radio, or see them in film and TV, or see them teaching in schools,” said Jully Black on learning of her induction.

“Being inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame feels to me like an excuse for a party,” joked Bruce Cockburn on learning of his induction. “It feels wonderful. When I first heard the news, I was very excited. I was like, ‘What? Me?’”

The other seven Walk of Fame inductees who received their stars are:

  • Ajay Virmani (Entrepreneurship and Philanthropy)
  • Bret “The Hitman” Hart (Sports and Athletics)
  • Damian Warner (Sports and Athletics)
  • Frederick Banting, Charles Best, John Macleod, and James Collip (Science, Technology, and Innovation)
  • Graham Greene (Arts & Entertainment)
  • Keanu Reeves (Arts & Entertainment)
  • Lieutenant-General (retired) The Honourable Roméo A. Dallaire (Humanitarianism)

SOCAN members previously honoured by Canada’s Walk of Fame include Drake, the late Leonard Cohen, Andy Kim, Col. Chris Hadfield, the late Stompin’ Tom Connors, Michael Bublé, Rush, Sarah McLachlan, Blue Rodeo, The Tragically Hip, Joni Mitchell, Gordon Lightfoot, Nickelback, and kd lang.