SOCAN held an exclusive mixer in the Bel Café at the Hawksworth Restaurant & Cocktail Bar in Vancouver, on Apr. 17, 2024, to honour its esteemed #ComposersWhoScore. The event was hosted by SOCAN CEO Jennifer Brown, President Marc Ouellette, and Gagan Singh, our Creative Executive, Film/TV & Visual Media.

This intimate gathering of about 25 Vancouver-based screen composers and SOCAN staff offered a unique opportunity for us to celebrate their outstanding work scoring for film, television, and visual media. The evening was a testament to the diversity and creativity of SOCAN members in the world of screen music.

Attendees were screen composers Ed Henderson, Hamish Thomson, Matthew Rogers, David Ramos, Red Janes, Toby Sheriff, Timothy McCauley, Caleb Chan, Brian Chan, La-Nai Gabriel, as well as Robert Kraft, formerly President at Fox Music/20th Century, and current Founding Director of Kraft Box Entertainment, along with his wife Beth Kraft; Tonya Dedrick, Executive Director of the SCGC (Screen Composers Guild of Canada); and John Rowley, Vice-President of the SCGC.

Also attending for SOCAN were Vice President, Creative & Member Relations, Cameron Kennedy; Chief Membership Officer Jean-Christian Céré; Sara Pavilionis, Manager, Member Services; Phil Laffin, Account Executive; Alex Golden, Manager, Creative Operations & Programming; as well as Charlie Wall-Andrews, Executive Director of The SOCAN Foundation.

As conversation flowed and connections were forged, SOCAN affirmed its commitment to championing the interests of our screen composers, ensuring that their contributions to the entertainment industry are deservedly recognized.