SOCAN members Lynne Hanson and Lynn Miles, of The LYNNeS, won the SOCAN-sponsored English Songwriter of the Year honour, for their album Heartbreak Song For The Radio, at the 2018 Canadian Folk Music Awards, held Nov. 30 and Dec. 1, 2018, at The Gateway in Calgary. The duo also earned the Ensemble of the Year Award, based on the same album.

The French Songwriter of the Year Award was presented to Anik Bérubé and Natalie Byrns of the duo Ancolie, and their co-writers Christian Bernard and Frédéric Joyal, for their album, Le soleil en bulle. The group Shauit received the Indigenous Songwriter of the Year honour for their album Apu peikussiakᵘ.

The duo of Pharis & Jason Romero were double winners, for Traditional Singer of the Year (to Pharis) and Vocal Group of the Year, on the strength of their album Sweet Old Religion. The Contemporary Album of the Year was Both Ways by Donovan Woods

For more information, and a complete list of nominees and winners, visit the CFMAs website.

Three Days Grace, "The Mountain", "Infra-Red", Hyvetown Music Publishing, Yaletown Financial Management, Patrick Zulinov, Janice Staub

Left to right: SOCAN’s Michael McCarty, Yaletown’s Janice Staub, SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, SOCAN’s Racquel Villagante, Hyvetown’s Patrick Zulinov, SOCAN’s Rodney Murphy.

About 220 of our members and other music business stakeholders gathered at a SOCAN Family & Friends Bash in Vancouver, from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m. on Nov. 29, 2018, to meet with our staff, connect with each other, and enjoy some sparkling wine, an open bar, hors-d’œuvres, pizza, and salad. Held at Waterview, under the Granville Bridge, the reception drew a wide variety of members from across all ages and musical genres, as well as industry tastemakers and key influencers.

Four SOCAN No. 1 Song Awards were presented at the beginning of the night. Two were earned by four-time JUNO Award winners Three Days Grace, who’ve now enjoyed 14 No. 1 songs at the top of the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart – officially breaking Van Halen’s two-decade record topping it.

“The Mountain,” which scaled the peak of the chart on March 31, 2018, was co-written by Gavin Brown, and band members Neil Sanderson, Barry Stock, Brad Walst, and Matthew Walst. The song is co-published by Hyvetown Music Publishing, CCS Rights Management, and Wixen Music Canada. The band’s song “Infra-Red” also reached the top of the chart, on Sept. 15, 2018, and is co-written by Brown, Sanderson, Stock, and the Walst brothers, as well as Dan Kanter and Isaiah Steinberg. It’s also published by Hyvetown, CCS, and Wixen.

Accepting both awards were Patrick Zulinov and Janice Staub from Hyvetown. (Staub is also a member of SOCAN’s current Board of Directors.)

Jill Barber, Ryan Guldemond, "Girl's Gotta Do"

Left to right: SOCAN’s Racquel Villagante, Ryan Guldemond, Jill Barber, SOCAN’s Coralie Hummel and Erica Grayson

Jill Barber and Ryan Guldemond were pleased to accept their SOCAN No. 1 Song Award for co-writing “Girl’s Gotta Do,” which topped the CBC Music Top 20 on May 31, 2018. The song is published by Universal Music Publishing Group Canada. Also on hand to cheer on the presentation was a contingent from Watchdog Management – which oversees Guldemond’s musical career – that included Sarah Fenton, Rick Richardson, Kassia Edwards, Gillian Tringham, and Anastasia DeRosa.

“Thank you to SOCAN for the No. 1 song award tonight, and to CBC Music for spinning ‘Girl’s Gotta Do’ into the number one position,” said Barber. “It sure feels good to be acknowledged by our peers, and celebrate the ability to give a song limbs to climb.”

Laura Mitic was similarly honoured with a No. 1 Award for her song “Roots,” which reached the zenith of

the CBC Music Top 20 on April 19, 2018, in a recording by Mitic with her band, Carmanah – whose members also attended the gathering, to celebrate the occasion.

SOCAN members Etienne Siew, Alex Maher, Teo Van Raalte, and Stephanie Ratcliff all expressed their appreciation for the chance to

Laura Mitic, Carmanah, "Roots"

Left to right: Carmanah’s Pat Ferguson, SOCAN’s Racquel Villagante, Laura Mitic, SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste, SOCAN’s Coralie Hummel, Carmanah’s Marek Olsen

network, and share their perspectives, at the event. Attendees also included The Faceplants’ Dan Botch, as well as Cassie Dasilva (who flew in from Los Angeles), both alumni of SOCAN’s West Coast-based Kenekt Song Camps.

Attending on behalf of SOCAN were CEO Eric Baptiste and President of the Board of Directors Marc Ouellette, as well as Michael McCarty, Rodney Murphy, Erica Grayson, Racquel Villagante, Gary Laranja, Coralie Hummel, Pat Mueller, Paul Tansey, Craig Horton, Lea Faradian, and Sara Pavilionis.

The SOCAN Foundation has announced the participants for its inaugural TD Creative Entrepreneur Incubator. “The program is designed to foster high-potential music creators, and to help them evolve their passion and talent into a sustainable career,” said Charlie Wall-Andrews, Executive Director of the SOCAN Foundation.

After reviewing nearly 1,000 submissions, the Foundation was pleased to announce that the following music creators have been accepted into the TD Creative Entrepreneurial Incubator Program:

  • Julie Austin, Ontario
  • Laura Babin Rioux, Québec
  • James Baley, Ontario
  • Justin Boissonault, Ontario
  • Marvin Chan, Saskatchewan
  • Kassandra Clack, British Columbia
  • Desiree Dawson, British Columbia
  • Domanique Grant, Ontario
  • Aliah Guerra, Quebec
  • Madmoud Ismail, Ontario
  • Bella Krys, Ontario
  • Dante Leon, Ontario
  • Madeline Ritter, Ontario
  • Jon Saldanha, British Columbia
  • Dave Sampson, Nova Scotia
  • Connor Seidel, Québec
  • Linnea Siggelkow, Ontario
  • Annie Sumi, Ontario
  • Vincent Turcotte, Québec
  • Joanna Worthington, Ontario

Each participant in the program will receive:

  • A cash grant of up to $3,000, intended to defray start-up costs (such as those spent on marketing, business development, branding, etc.)
  • Mentorship by an industry professional, including Adrian X (musician/producer/songwriter, Drake, PARTYNEXTDOOR), Amy Eligh (Arts & Crafts), Joe Ferrari (Sony Music), and Emily Smart (Six Shooter Records), among many more.
  • Access to an exclusive webinar series led by industry professionals and experts, to fuel the entrepreneurial spirit of the participants.

This new SOCAN Foundation program was made possible with the generous support of TD.  “Music has the power to strengthen communities by connecting people.,” said Valerie Picher, Associate Vice-President, Community Relations at TD Bank Group. “We’re excited to partner with SOCAN Foundation to support the TD Creative Entrepreneur Incubator program, through our global corporate citizenship platform, The Ready Commitment. This program will empower music creators from all backgrounds to develop the necessary skills to enhance music creation and sharpen their entrepreneurial abilities, so music continues to enrich our lives in a sustainable way.”

Visit for more information about the program, and to meet the participants.