Toronto is celebrating the life of Ralph Murphy on Thursday, July 11, 2019, at Louis Cifer Brew Works, at 417 Danforth Avenue. Hosted by Beverly Mahood, and running from 7:00 to 10:00 p.m., the evening will include performances by Jamie Warren, Patricia Conroy (a member of SOCAN’s Board of Directors), and more. Donations to the Unison Benevolent Fund will be accepted at the door, in celebration of Murphy’s life. All are welcome.

Murphy, one of the SOCAN family’s greatest friends, passed away in May of 2019 at the age of 75. He’d been writing songs, as he described it in a 2017 SOCAN Words & Music online magazine article, “since God wore short pants.” At the 2019 SOCAN Awards on April 1, we honoured Ralph with the Special Achievement Award for his generosity as a mentor to countless Canadian songwriters and music publishers.

The Nashville-based Murphy was a 2012 Canadian Country Music Hall of Fame inductee. He penned the No. 2 Jeannie C. Riley hit “Good Enough to Be Your Wife”; co-wrote the Crystal Gayle chart-topper “Half the Way”; co-wrote the Ronnie Milsap No. 1 hit “He Got You”; and enjoyed a No. 2 U.K. hit via Sir Cliff Richard, “21st Century Christmas.” He also had his tunes covered by Randy Travis, the late Don Williams, Ray Price, Shania Twain, Kathy Mattea, Little Texas, Brotherhood of Man, and Vanity Fare. His book, Murphy’s Laws of Songwriting: How to Write a Hit Song, has been endorsed by some of the art form’s most celebrated tunesmiths.

The Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) has announced its full list of nominees for the 2019 CCMA Awards, and leading the race with five nominations each are reigning 2018 Interactive Artist of the Year Brett Kissel, and 2018 Single of the Year Award-winning group James Barker Band.

Following closely behind, with four nominations apiece, are Paul Brandt, Lindsay Ell, Tim Hicks, The Reklaws, Tenille Townes, and Dallas Smith.

Nominees for Songwriters of the Year are:

  • Brett Kissel, Seth Mosley, and Brad Rempel, for “Cecilia,” performed by Brett Kissel
  • Gord Bamford, Bart Butler, and Brice Long, for “Down,” performed by Gord Bamford
  • James Barker, Todd Clark, Gavin Slate, and Travis Wood, for “Keep It Simple,” performed by James Barker Band
  • Corey Crowder, Jess Moskaluke, and Jared Mullins, for “Save Some of That Whiskey,” performed by Jess Moskaluke
  • Barry Dean, Luke Laird, and Tenille Townes, for “Somebody’s Daughter,” performed by Tenille Townes

Returning to the 2019 CCMA Awards broadcast after a 30-year hiatus, the Entertainer of the Year Award will see Paul Brandt, Dean Brody, Tim Hicks, Brett Kissel and Dallas Smith vie for the honour.

Nominees for the Apple Music Fans’ Choice Award are Brett Kissel, James Barker Band, Gord Bamford, Paul Brandt, Dean Brody, Tim Hicks, Hunter Brothers, The Reklaws, Dallas Smith, and Guylaine Tanguay.  Canadian country music fans can vote by clicking here.

The 2019 CCMA Awards will be broadcast live from Calgary, Sunday, Sept. 8, 2019, on Global at 9:00 p.m. EST/PST. Livestream details will be announced at a later date. For a complete list of nominees, click here.

SOCAN members based in British Columbia can apply now to perform live at the third annual Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF) AMP (Audio Music Production) SOUNDOFF program, where up to six selected artists from across the musical spectrum will perform a single song each, live, to a panel of key international music supervisors on the hunt for their next discovery. Each artist will have an opportunity to receive feedback, learn more about songwriting for film and television, and gain valuable insight from the panel about getting their music placed onscreen. Artists can apply here, until 5:00 p.m. PST on July 19, 2019.

Supported by Music BC, SOUNDOFF provides an intimate platform for BC’s most promising musicians to focus on song placement and synchronization licensing in feature films, television, documentaries, and filmed media, while connecting with senior music supervisors and producers from around the globe. Since the launch of SOUNDOFF in 2017, more than 20 artists have participated in the program, including Chin Injeti, Harrison Brome, Emily Rowed, The Long Wall, Sam Lynch, Luca Fogale, Loig Morin and FIONN. Artists connect with senior music supervisors and producers at this expansive yet intimate gathering.

SOUNDOFF is a part of VIFF AMP, sponsored by SOCAN, which brings together local and international music supervisors, screen composers, and post-production experts to engage in panels, workshops and networking events exploring the essential role that music plays in film and television. Over the two-day summit, world-class experts will weigh in on subjects such as diversity in the music marketplace, the art of music supervision, and how music rights management victories around the world are benefiting songwriters and composers. VIFF AMP 2019 will be held Oct. 4-5 at The Pyatt Hall in the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra School of Music, at 843 Seymour St.