GRAE crafts a hazy pop world filled with spacious vocals, buoyant production, and deeply personal lyrics. It’s both intimate and ambitious, able to soundtrack a bedroom hangout as easily as a venue of thousands. Her 2020 release “Permanent Maniac” was included in Billboard’s Top 30 Pop Songs of the Year, while her EP has garnered more than 5 million streams. GRAE has been featured on Spotify’s Indie Pop & Chill and Outliers playlists, and been named Apple Music Canada’s Artist of the Week. Her song “Soft” reached No. 4 on the CBC Music Top 20, and she has more than 15 million streams to her name, as well as 120,000 TikTok followers, and 45,000 on Instagram. Her music has been heard on Nancy Drew (CW), Virgin River (Netflix), and The Bold Type (Freeform). Here, the fast-rising star tells us all about her current debut album, Whiplash.

GRAE video thumbnail

Click the image to watch the video

The SOCAN Foundation has announced the participants for the fourth edition of the TD Incubator for Creative Entrepreneurship. The incubator program provides emerging music creators with seed funding, mentorship, and the opportunity to participate in a progressive webinar series that will hone their skills of entrepreneurship, while providing them with the tools and resources needed to turn their talent into a sustainable career. The incubator is made possible with the generous support of the TD Ready Commitment.

“The program is designed to identify, celebrate, and support the next generation of music creators that have demonstrated extraordinary potential,” said Charlie Wall-Andrews, Executive Director of the SOCAN Foundation.

After reviewing hundreds of submissions, the Foundation was pleased to announce that the following music creators have been accepted into the 2021 edition of the program:

  • Bukola (British Columbia)
  • Holly Santonato (Ontario)
  • Jay Glavany (Ontario)
  • Jerry Sereda (Manitoba)
  • Jessica Spurrell (Ontario)
  • Kaili Kinnon (Ontario)
  • Kaiya Gamble (Alberta)
  • Kylie V (British Columbia)
  • Leah Marlene (Ontario)
  • Mackenta (Ontario)
  • Maggie Andrew a.k.a. Jorie (Nova Scotia)
  • Meghan Oak (Québec)
  • Mez Mariyé (Ontario)
  • Mint Simon (Québec)
  • Newby (Ontario)
  • sahara (British Columbia)
  • Salin (Québec)
  • Sam Krüger (Québec)
  • Shades Lawrence (Québec)
  • Siddartha (Ontario)
  • Siibii aka Angel Baribeau (Québec)
  • Terez (Alberta)
  • The Moon & I (Québec)
  • Tracey Richard (New Brunswick)
  • ARI (Ontario)

Click here to meet the participants.

Each participant in the program will receive:

  • A cash grant of up to $3,000, intended to defray start-up costs (such as those spent on marketing, business development, branding, etc.);
  • Mentorship by an industry professional; and
  • Access to exclusive webinars led by industry professionals and experts, to fuel the entrepreneurial spirit of the participants.

For more information about the SOCAN Foundation and the TD Incubator for Creative Entrepreneurship, visit

SOCAN was a proud sponsor of the 24th annual LEO Awards, celebrating excellence in British Columbia film and television, as it has been for every edition since the beginning in 1998. The Awards  were presented on July 5 and 6, 2022 onine, and live-and-in-person (for the first time in three years) at the Gala on July 9, 2022 (though also available online). SOCAN’s #ComposersWhoScore walked away with all 11 musical honours.

Prizes were awarded as follows:

  • Best Musical Score in a Motion Picture
    Conan Karpinski and Andrew Dixon, for Portraits From a Fire
  • Best Musical Score in a Television Movie
    Hal Beckett, for A Clüsterfünke Christmas
  • Best Musical Score in a Short Drama
    Sutrisno Hartana and Harrison Casavant, for Srikandi
  • Best Musical Score in a Dramatic Series
    Hamish Thomson and Matt Rogers, for Chesapeake Shores – “What A Difference A Day Makes” episode 
  • Best Musical Score in a Feature-Length Documentary
    Daniel Ross, for Dead Man’s Switch: A Crypto Mystery
  • Best Musical Score in a Short Documentary
    Daryl Bennett, for In Love With a Problem
  • Best Musical Score in a Documentary Series
    Jacqueline Perriam, Erik Abbink, Amanda Cawley, for Visionary Gardeners– “Beauty and Delight” episode
  • Best Musical Score in an Information, Lifestyle, or Reality Series
    Wayne Lavallée, for Dr. Savannah: Wild Rose Vet – “Into the Wild” episode 
  • Best Musical Score in an Animation Series
    Caleb Chan and Brian Chan, for Angry Birds: Summer Madness – “Dodgebirds” episode
  • Best Musical Score in a Youth or Children’s Program or Series
    Oleksa Lozowchuk, for Gabby Duran & The Unsittables – “Goat of the Month” episode
  • Best Music Video
    The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer, for “Running”

The July 9, 2022, Gala was attended by SOCAN representative Gagan Singh, Creative Executive, Film/TV & Visual Media.

The LEO Awards offer an excellent opportunity for SOCAN members who work in film and television to celebrate their accomplishments. For more information and a complete list of winners visit the awards website.