Eight SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore were honoured in musical categories of the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards, presented online for the second time this year because of ongoing health measures to combat the spread of COVID-19.

The co-composing team of Amin Bhatia and Ari Posner were double winners, for Best Original Music in both the Fiction and Animation categories – in collaboration with two sets of different colleagues in each category.

The winners are:


Best Original Music, Fiction
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Sarah Slean, Antonio Naranjo – Detention Adventure – “All the World’s a Stage” episode

Best Original Music, Animation
Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner, Chris Tait, Kris Kuzdak – Let’s Go Luna!, “Monster Park / Meet the Strongs” episode

Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
Darren Fung – A Bee’s Diary
Published by Third Side Music Inc.


Achievement in Music – Original Song
Marie-Hélène L. Delorme – “Timid Joyous Atrocious,” from Sugar Daddy

For a list of all the SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore nominees, click here. For a complete list of all of the nominees and winners, click here.

SOCAN congratulates all our winners on these great achievements!

After being shut out by the 2021 Grammy Awards, SOCAN member The Weeknd dominated the 2021 Billboard Music Awards, winning no less than 10 of them.

He won six times as an artist, for

  • Top Artist
  • Top Male Artist
  • Top Hot 100 Artist
  • Top Radio Songs Artist
  • Top R&B Artist
  • Top R&B Male Artist

His song “Blinding Lights” won three awards, for

  • Top Hot 100 Song
  • Top Radio Song
  • Top R&B Song

And his LP After Hours won for Top R&B Album.

Drake also won, not only as the Top Streaming Songs Artist for 2021, but as the Artist of the Decade.

The Billboard Music Awards were held on Sunday, May 23, 2021, at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. The ceremony was broadcast live from NBC,  hosted by Nick Jonas.

SOCAN congratulates The Weeknd and Drake on these great achievements!

To celebrate the 40th Anniversary (in 2020) of the Screen Composers Guild of Canada (SCGC ), and on the occasion of the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards, SOCAN is pleased and proud to present a three-part video series, The SCGC Presidents Roundtable, featuring past presidents and key personnel from this crucial organization.

In the third of three episodes, current SCGC Second Vice-President Janal Bechthold and Current President John Welsman talk about how the organization is addressing the need for diversity, research, and funding, and the challenges of streaming.