The 2020 edition of the Gémeaux Awards has, once again, nominated several SOCAN members in various music categories, for this 35th annual celebration of the Québec television industry. The Technical and Documentary Gala will be presented as a three-fold event on the organization’s Facebook page on Sept. 17, 2020.

The finalists are:


Patrick Lavoie
C’est comme ça que je t’aime, Episode 4
Productions Casablanca

Jonathan Cayer
Faits divers — Season 3, Episode 26
(Les Productions Sovimage)

Martin Roy, Luc Sicard
La Faille, Episode 7
Productions Pixcom

Philippe Brault
Léo — Season 2, Episode 12
Encore Télévision

Michel Corriveau
Les Pays d’en haut — Season 5, Episode 46
Encore Télévision/Les Productions Sovimage


Alexandra Stréliski
Faire œuvre utile, Episode 13
Denis Villeneuve et Alexandra Stréliski

Alexis Martin, François B. Richard
Génération d’anxieux
Lamarche à Vélo productions

Marie-Pierre Arthur
Mont tétons
Blimp Télé

Viviane Audet
Polytechnique : ce qu’il reste du 6 décembre
Entourage Télévision

Catherine Major
Sylvie Bernier : Le Jour où je n’ai pas pu plonger


Patrick Lavoie
C’est comme ça que je t’aime, Episode 4
Productions Casablanca

Michel Corriveau
Fragile, Episode 3 — “Saint-Valentin”

Vincent Roberge
Infoman 2019

Pier-Luc Boisvert, Charles Dubreuil, Alexandre Parr, Simon Proulx
La Semaine des 4 julie
Productions Toros

FM Le Sieur
Ruptures, Episode 50
Aetios Productions

SOCAN congratulates its members on their nominations, and wishes them the best of luck!

The main gala will be broadcast live on ICI TÉLÉ on Sunday, Sept. 20, hosted by Véronique Cloutier.

For more information on the various categories and the nomination process, visit the Gémeaux website.

SOCAN Interim CEO Jennifer Brown met with Minister of Canadian Heritage Steven Guilbeault via teleconference today to provide data and raise concerns on behalf of our more than 160,000 members.

“It was a pleasure to speak with Minister Guilbeault about the issues that SOCAN and our members are facing,” said Brown. “As a defender and protector of Canadian rights, SOCAN has enjoyed a successful relationship with the Canadian government, and we will continue to share information to help advance the best outcomes for Canadian culture and artists – and our members.”

Brown explained her new role, and provided an overview of SOCAN for Minister Guilbeault. She thanked him for the government’s confirmation, in April, that royalty payments won’t prevent music creators and publishers from qualifying for benefits under the Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB).

Minister Guilbeault and Brown also discussed our members’ declines in revenue from concerts and traditional media in the face of the self-isolation required under the COVID-19 pandemic. She explained that while digital revenues have increased, it’s not enough to replace or significantly offset those declines, and that SOCAN has been working with industry associations to find solutions.

Also at the meeting were SOCAN’s Chief Visual Arts & Quebec Affairs officer Geneviève Côté, and SOCAN’s Chief Legal Officer & General Counsel Andrea Kokonis.

SOCAN thanks Minister Guilbeault for taking the time to meet with SOCAN, and for listening to what we have to say.

The East Coast Music Association (ECMA) has unveiled the first wave of recipients of the 2020 Honourary East Coast Music Awards, the majority of which will be handed out during the 2020 ECMA Pre-Awards Show on Facebook and YouTube this Friday, July 10 at 1:00 p.m. AT.

The Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented as part of the 2020 East Coast Music Awards televised special, airing Saturday, July 11 at 9:00 p.m. AT on CBC TV in Atlantic Canada and on CBC Gem across the country. The televised special also features a tribute to the legendary Ron Hynes in celebration of his induction into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame with support from the SOCAN Foundation and Peermusic.

Five other Honorary Awards – the Stompin’ Tom Awards – will be handed out live on CBC’s Weekend Mornings and CBC’s Weekend AM radio shows this Saturday, July 11:

SOCAN congratulates all of the honourary awards winners.