Meghan Patrick earned the SOCAN-sponsored Songwriter of the Year honour at the 2019 Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) Awards, held June 16, 2019, in Southam Hall, at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.

Patrick won the award for co-writing “Walls Come Down” with professional Nashville songwriters and colleagues Kelly Archer and Justin Weaver. She also earned four other awards, for Album (for Country Music Made Me Do It), Female Artist, Music Video (for “Walls Come Down”), and Fans’ Choice of the Year.

Other multiple award winners included Tim Hicks (Male Artist of the Year and Nielsen Compass Award), and The Reklaws (Group/Duo and Single of the Year, for “Feels Like That”). The Good Brothers earned the Impact Award for their lasting and encouraging influence on country music in Ontario, and led an “all-hands-onstage” finale performance of their best-known song, “Fox on The Run.”

For a complete list of winners, click here.

Below, in a short interview conducted during The SOCAN Awards on April 1, 2019, Meghan Patrick talks about how she co-wrote “Walls Come Down” (which earned a SOCAN Country Music Award that night), and her songwriting process in general.