More than 40 SOCAN #ComposersWhoScore have been nominated for nine musical honours in the 2019 edition of the LEO Awards, which celebrate excellence each year in British Columbia film and television. The awards, sponsored in part by SOCAN, will be presented May 26, 2019, at the Sheraton Wall Centre in Vancouver – the second of three award ceremonies evenings, with the first on May 25 at the Sheraton, and the gala final on June 1 at the Vancouver Hyatt Regency.

SOCAN congratulates all of the nominees:

Best Musical Score Motion Picture
Andrew Harris, Anthem of a Teenage Prophet|
Randy Raine-Reusch, Bella Ciao!
Kinnie Starr, Edge of the Knife (Sgaawaay K’uuna)
Schaun Tozer, Rabbit
Wayne Lavallee, Red Snow
Christopher Arruda, Woodland

Best Musical Score Television Movie
Hamish Thomson, Christmas Pen Pals
Matthew Rogers, Falling For You
Mark Lazeski, No One Would Tell
Peter Allen, Truly Madly Sweetly

Best Musical Score Short Drama
Scott Thompson, A Typical Fairytale
Bryant Olender, Exhibit Man
Dave Chick (BMI), Extra-Ordinary Amy
Michael Neilson, Giltrude’s Dwelling
Matthew Rogers, Girl on A Bus
Sean William (N/A), Small Fish

Best Musical Score Dramatic Series
Hamish Thomson, Chesapeake Shores – “Before A Following Sea”
Dan Mangan, Unspeakable – “Heat Treatment”
Rich Walters, Van Helsing – “Birth Ritual”

Best Musical Score Feature Length Documentary
Mark Lazeski, Ben Hulse, Design Canada
Daryl Bennett, I Am MLK Jr.
Michael Richard Plowman, Letter from Masanjia
Kenton Gilchrist, Safety to Nome
Grant Baldwin, This Mountain Life

Best Musical Score Short Documentary
Andrew Harris, After the Sirens
David F. Ramos, Purple Horse
Jordan Soles, Speedway!
Daryl Bennett, The Bailey Experience

Best Musical Score Documentary Series
Greg Fisher, Derek Treffry, Border Security: America’s Front Line – “Episode 207”
Christopher Nickel, Highway Thru Hell – “Above And Beyond”
Christopher Nickel, Wild Bear Rescue – “Wild, Wild Grizzly”

Best Musical Score Animation Program or Series
Matt Davis, 16 Hudson – “Monkey King”
David Parfit, Marc Junker, Esluna: The First Monolith
Mehdi Farshidfar, Second Home – “Journey”

Best Music Video
“Chains” by Dear Rouge – Martin Glegg, Kristoff Duxbury – Producers
“Glass” by Jo Passed – John Mutter – Producer
“Going Late” by Humans – Peter Ricq, Devin Karringten – Producers
“I Can’t Be You” by Chersea – Paul Bourque – Producer
“Murphy’s Law” by Chersea – Paul Bourque – Producer
“UnAmerican” by Said The Whale – Johnny Jansen – Producer

For more information and a complete list of winners visit the awards website.