The SOCAN Foundation has distributed nearly $75,000 among 23 award recipients of its annual competitions. With more than 350 submissions, the Awards for Young Composers and Emerging Screen Composers were evaluated by juries of music industry professionals from across the country.

“SOCAN Foundation believes in celebrating the achievements of young emerging artists,” said Charlie Wall-Andrews, SOCAN Foundation Executive Director. “These awards help support and foster the development of talented young SOCAN members across Canada.”

The SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers is designed to recognize Canadian composers 30 years of age or under, for original concert music works. Cash prizes in the total amount of $46,250 were awarded to the finalists in the competition’s five categories — The Choral Awards, The Electroacoustic Awards, The Solo and Duet Awards, The Chamber Ensemble Awards, and The Large Ensemble Awards. Jury members for this year’s award included Jared Miller, Analia Llugdar, and Lesley Hinger.


Grand Prize
Francis Battah for Toccata no 2

The Choral Awards
1st Prize—Katerina Gimon for Shadow/Light
2nd Prize—Stephanie Orlando for kyrie
3rd Prize and Young Composer Award—Benjamin Sigerson for Stratocumulus

The Electroacoustic Awards
1st Prize—Dong Ho You for Look Straight, Don’t See
2nd Prize—Dominic Jasmin for Ici
3rd Prize—Thomas Quirion for Consequential
Young Composer Award—Michael Selvaggi for Marine Transmutations

The Solo and Duet Awards
1st Prize— Nicholas Denton-Protsack for Into this Fracturing Land
2nd Prize— James Lowrie for Chainsmoking;Index
3rd Prize—Liam Ritz for Three Inventions
Young Composer Award— Henry From for Chorale and Variations

The Chamber Ensemble Awards
1st Prize— Francis Battah for Codes, claves, accidents
2nd Prize—Haotian Yu for Ritual IIIb
3rd Prize— Sami Seif for Orientalism
Young Composer Award—Michael Selvaggi for Midwinter Fractures

The Large Ensemble
1st Prize—Nicholas Denton-Protsack for Iterations on a Theme by Antonio Salieri
2nd Prize—Sami Seif for Harp Concerto
3rd Prize—Liam Ritz for Chamber Dances
Young Composer Award—Henry From for Petawawa Gorges

Katrina Gimon (Ice Forms), Stephanie Orlando (riptide), and Liam Ritz (Chamber Dances) have been selected for the National Youth Orchestra of Canada’s mentorship program. They will be invited to attend an NYOC rehearsal reading of their orchestral composition.

The SOCAN Foundation Awards for Emerging Screen Composers is designed to recognize Canadian screen composers 30 years of age or under, for original musical themes or scores created exclusively for the screen, in audio-visual support (TV, film, etc.). Cash prizes worth $26,000 in total were presented to the winners of the competition’s four categories. Jury members included recognized film composers Steffan Andrews, Stephanie Hamelin Tomala, and Neil Parfitt.


Grand Prize
Dillon Baldassero for The Family (Escape)
Dillon Baldassero for Girl – Best Original Theme (2021)

Best Original Score—Animated
1st Prize—Medhat Hanbali for Trashy Friends
2nd Prize—Joey Reda for Drought

Best Original Score—Fiction
1st Prize— Virginia de Vasconcelos Kilbertus for Endlings: Season 2
2nd Prize— Iva Delic for I Can’t Said the Ant

Best Original Score—Non-Fiction
1st Prize— Andrés Galindo Arteaga for In Despair
2nd Prize—MAO YU for music for Wrought (spoil section)

Best Original Theme (opening or closing)
1st Prize—Spencer Creaghan for Letters To Satan Clause
2nd Prize— Lora Bidner for Elephant Sheets

For more information on SOCAN Foundation award winners, click here.

The registration deadlines for the 2022 SOCAN Foundation awards will be posted on the organization’s website in the early months of 2022.